Cal State LA Library News - LibGuides at CSU Los Angeles

Featured Database: Web-based and Mobile Access Newspapers

In addition to the online access to over 1,000 newspapers worldwide via the library databases, we have added subscriptions to the New York Times and Wall Street Journal web and mobile app access. The New York Times access includes Cooking, Games, and The Athletic. These sections are available for all current Cal State LA students, faculty, and staff to access for one year from your activation date.

For details on activating and accessing both papers, please click the highlighted links to review the dedicated access pages. Additionally, web and mobile access to the Chronicle of Higher Education is available via the Library Databases A-Z list.

Featured General Collection: Cultural Heritage Collection & Displays

The University Library's cultural heritage book displays create a dynamic and inclusive space for learning, appreciating, and celebrating human heritage. Featuring materials that reflect diverse cultures and perspectives, these displays align with the library's mission to foster learning, understanding, and appreciation of various cultures and histories. By showcasing a wide array of cultural narratives, the library aims to bridge gaps between different communities and promote a sense of diversity through knowledge and experiences.

Our displays highlight the traditions, histories, and narratives that shape our communities, emphasizing works by diverse authors, including those from our own community members. This approach not only celebrates our rich heritage but also gives a platform to voices that might otherwise go unheard. Each display is carefully curated to educate the campus community about different cultures, traditions, and historical events, fostering a greater understanding and appreciation of cultural diversity. Through these displays, we aim to spark curiosity, stimulate conversation, and create connections among students and faculty alike. This inspiration encourages students to explore their own identities and histories and prompts deeper reflection on the broader human experience.

The existing library displays cover a range of significant cultural and historical themes, including Black History Month, Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month, LGBTQ+ Pride Month, Hispanic Heritage Month, Banned Books Week, Open Access Week, and National Native American Heritage Month. These displays are not static; we continuously develop additional themes to enrich our community's cultural experience. Each new display adds another layer of depth and understanding to our diverse knowledge, ensuring that the library remains a vibrant hub of cultural education and appreciation.

All displays are presented in the Reading Lounge on the 2nd floor of Library North. We invite everyone to check the Library Event Calendar for upcoming displays and events. By visiting these displays, and checking out the books, you can immerse yourself in the diverse tapestry of human heritage and contribute to the ongoing celebration and understanding of cultural diversity.

Featured Special Collection: The Gloria Arellanes Papers, East LA Archives

The East Los Angeles Archives (ELAA) is housed in Cal State LA's Special Collection and Archives, and is comprised of collections which document the lives and events of a historical community central to the social, political, and cultural history of the Chicano/Latino community in the United States. The ELAA is a program that advances scholarship in Chicano/Latino studies and Los Angeles history through its varied collection of primary research materials. This archive has a special interest in materials documenting the Chicano and Civil Rights movements in East Los Angeles during the 1960s and 1970s. Gloria Arellanes (1946-) and Dionne Espinoza (Professor of History, Cal State LA) identified a large percentage of the contents of the files.

Arellanes was born in East Los Angeles and raised in El Monte, California. She attended El Monte High School in the early 1960s and in the late 1960s she became Minister of Finance and Correspondence of the Chicano Brown Beret organization’s founding East Los Angeles Chapter. As Minister of Finance and Correspondence she wrote press releases, letters, and edited La Causa, the East Los Angeles based Brown Beret Newspaper. She also served as administrator of El Barrio Free Clinic and was a member of the National Chicano Moratorium Committee (1969-1970). She attended the Poor People’s Campaign in Washington, D.C. (1968), and the Denver Youth Conferences (1969 and 1970). After leaving the Brown Beret organization in early 1970, she organized the women’s group, Las Adelitas de Aztlán. She also coordinated la Clínica del Barrio and continued as a health care worker through the late 1970s.

The bulk of the collection includes political flyers and broadsides, newspapers, books, buttons, posters and photographs dating from 1967 to the late 1970s. The collection is organized into eight series: I. Subject/Topical Files; II. Programs, Flyers and Broadsides III. Newspapers; IV. Clippings V. Publications; VI. Photographs; VII. Posters; VIII. Ephemera. View the collection guide.

Recent Posts

Sounds of the Underground

Sounds of the Underground: Cross-campus Collaboration Brings the History of LA’s Diverse Music Scene to University Archives You’ve heard of the Beach Boys, the Doors, Guns n’ Roses, Dr. Dre, the Red Hot Chili Peppers, and Tupac Shakur. You’ve probably heard of Bad Religion, Jurassic 5, Ozomatli, and Haim. Cutting across a wide array of genres, all these artists have one thing in common: they formed in Los Angeles.But the list of musicians from LA you haven’t heard of is much, much longer. The independent music scene in LA has been around since the city’s inception, hopeful artists from around the country and around the world flocking here for a chance to hit their big break.The Cal State LA University Library has launched a comprehensive archive titled "Sounds of the Underground: Music Scenes in LA from the 1960s-2000s" to shed light on the rich and diverse musical heritage of Los Angeles. Spearheaded by Ethnic Studies Librarian Lettycia Terrones, Head of Special Collections Azalea Camacho, Chicana(o)/Latina(o) Studies Professor José Anguiano, and Communications Specialist Kelsey Brown, this project aims to document and celebrate the vibrant and lesser-known music scenes that have thrived in LA over the decades.“There’s a long, cultivated network of people that were involved in shaping the scene in LA,” Terrones said. “Broadly, there’s just so many famous musicians and important music movements that have happened in LA; from jazz to punk and underground rave scenes. It’s a historic location for people to independently organize around music.” The idea for the archive emerged from a shared passion for music and a recognition of the need to preserve the stories and artifacts of LA's underground music scenes. Camacho, Terrones, and Brown often discussed their pasts with LA music scenes, all growing up in the area in the 1980s and 90s, and how it had impacted their lives. Brown attended indie rock and punk shows in Orange County and Los Angeles as a teen growing up in the Inland Empire, going on to book noontime shows at Cal State Fullerton as an undergrad. Terrones would borrow her brothers’ punk rock cassettes while walking to school in East LA and listened to disco music with her sister, a member of a local party crew, in the 1980s. Camacho recalled going to a weekly dance club called “A Clockwork Orange” that featured 1980s throwback DJ sets while attending Cal Poly Pomona.“At these events, there’d always be a photographer taking photos of people, then they’d post these images on Facebook or their websites,” Camacho recalled. “My brother, who is five years older than me and took me to these clubs, would journal about the shows and artists we’d see.” Camacho wondered if others did the same, and if so, if these tangible artifacts had a place to live. “Always wearing my librarian hat, I thought – we should do something!” Terrones recalled. “We’re the center of research on the campus, where the community engages intellectually. These memories and mementos of music scenes in LA were – and continue to be – so important to us. We wanted to do something to preserve and celebrate the past, present, and future of it.” The three reached out to José Anguiano, a professor at Cal State LA with knowledge of music history in Los Angeles and cultural studies, with a primary focus on listeners and audiences of popular music and sound cultures of Southern California. “I remember in the 90s, the different music scenes all having a home in LA – rebel, rockabilly, pop, et cetera – and all the different clubs or spots that highlighted these scenes.” Anguiano grew up as a part of his school bands, and listening to any and all types of music, attending shows and events frequently. “As a lot of us got older, a lot of these spaces closed. My friends and I would reminisce about these spaces and times.” "Sounds of the Underground" spans through decades of LA's music history, capturing the evolution of various genres, from the counterculture movements of the 1960s to the eclectic scenes of the 2000s and beyond. The archive includes an array of materials such as concert flyers, photographs, textiles, rare footage of live performances, and more. These artifacts highlight not just the music, but also the cultural and social contexts in which these scenes flourished.“East LA and the area around Cal State LA has a rich history of rock and roll bands in the 60s and 70s,” Anguiano commented. “They’re all so connected to the idea of the ‘Eastside Sound’, and we all decided this is really something that should be remembered and archived. I think we’re in a critical moment to make sure we try to archive a lot of that history.” The group kicked off planning in the summer of 2023 for a fall 2023 archive launch, in time for Chicanx Latinx Heritage Month that takes place annually from mid-September to mid-October. With help of the University Library, the College of Ethnic Studies, the Cal State LA Office of Diversity, Equity, Inclusion and Belonging, and the Chicana(o)/Latina(o) Studies Department, the group planned three days of events to celebrate the LA music scenes of the past that have helped shaped our community.“I loved getting together and planning out these events and this archive with my colleagues who appreciated music scenes so much, and understood its impact,” Brown said. “It was exciting to work with people who wanted to preserve these memories and these scenes.”A talk and Q&A by author Dr. Ricky Rodriguez kicked off the event series, where he discussed his book A Kiss Across the Ocean. Rodriguez's work explores the transatlantic connections between punk scenes in the US and the UK, offering valuable insights into the global dimensions of underground music cultures. Day two featured a student and faculty symposium, providing a platform for researchers to present their research on LA's music scenes. Topics covered were varied, from the history of party crews in the 1990s to the statistical analysis of songs played and callers into LA disc jockey Art Laboe’s famous radio show based solely on song dedications. The final day was a performance by two local DJs, Alex Transistor and Argot, alongside a collecting day, where the group invited community members to contribute their own memorabilia and stories. Scanners and cameras were set up by Special Collections and Archives to digitally preserve items that patrons wanted to donate. “This history of music in LA is important to the culture of our city, and something we don’t want to forget,” Camacho said. “People may look back and think something isn’t substantial in their own history or understand the impact it made. But all histories are vital and important.”By documenting the multifaceted music scenes of Los Angeles, the archive not only preserves important cultural artifacts but also highlights the city's role as a hub of musical innovation and diversity.“When I think about southern California, there’s a certain openness to music,” Anguiano said. “When you grow up here, maybe you do hip-hop as your main music, but then you listen to ska records or cumbia or surf rock. It feels like the scenes are always constantly overlapping or fusing with each other, and that creates unique songs or artists that come from here.” Terrones, Camacho, Anguiano, and Brown decided to make the event an annual one, with the focus on different genres shifting every year. “There have been so many different music scenes throughout the years to ebb and flow in LA,” Brown commented. “You never know what is going to be popular, or nostalgic for someone, or what is going to make an impact.”The 2024 event series concluded in mid-October, with a keynote discussion by Dr. Jorge Leal, a professor from UC Riverside, photographer and filmmaker Piero F. Giunti, and singer/songwriter and musician Mark Guerrero. The trio curated “A Great Day in East LA,” a multi-faceted exhibit that explores the dynamic musical influences of East LA that will be on display next year at La Plaza de Cultura y Artes. A research symposium highlighted topics from Cal State LA students, faculty, and alumni, as well as community members. Discussed were the relationship between promoters and local metal bands, xxxxxxxxx. Finally, the week was capped off by a collecting day hosted by Special Collections and Archives, where community members donated and digitized their memorabilia, and listened to a live performance by local metal band Mortalis. In the years to come, the archive is expected to grow, incorporating new materials and stories as they emerge. The creators expect the event to grow, too – and they are committed to ensuring that this living archive remains a dynamic and evolving resource, reflecting the ever-changing nature of music and culture in Los Angeles.“Bringing awareness to these types of local archives helps students realize the rich history that not just LA but Cal State LA and the surrounding area had on the music scenes of the past,” Camacho commented. “It connects our community together.” ...

Librarian Helps with Free Tax Workshops

Financial Literacy in Action: Business Librarian and Accounting Professors Partner for Free Tax Workshops This past spring semester, Business and Economics Librarian Summer Peng collaborated with four accounting faculty on the IRS Volunteer Income Tax Assistance Program (VITA). This program trains ACCT 4210D, ACCT 5210D, and other business students to complete actual income tax returns. The students in these courses provided tax form preparation services to local community members with the assistance of mentors and professors during the busy tax season.“The participants are accounting students getting real-world experience in the community,” Peng commented. “Teaching students and connecting their book knowledge to real life scenarios is always really rewarding as an instructor.”From January 27 to April 15, as an embedded librarian, Peng participated on Saturdays. She supported students with taxation resources, educated and advised them on preparing tax returns, provided guidance on locating eligible tax credits and deductions, answered resource-related questions, and assisted with various tax scenarios. She obtained IRS certification in intake/interview, standards of conduct, advanced taxation, and site coordination. “I provide information to community members about understanding the different filing statuses such as single, married filing jointly, head of household, and the like, and how they affect tax rates and eligibility for deductions and credits,” Peng commented about the interactions with the community. “Tax policies can be difficult to understand, and sometimes it's much more beneficial for the person seeking help to get in-person advice rather than having to read a lot of policies and forms.” Peng's involvement extended to multiple sites, including the Cal State LA campus and six off-campus locations. Her higher level of participation offered a practical opportunity to deepen her understanding of her liaison area, engage directly in student learning experiences, develop career-focused materials, and foster stronger relationships with CBE faculty and students. In Spring 2024, the program successfully completed 2,303 tax returns for low- and moderate-income families, highlighting the significant impact of librarian-faculty collaboration on student success and community service. “We're sharing not just tax information but other benefits with the community clients as well, such as CalFresh. I would see, based on their situations, whether or not they were taking advantage of the many public programs that could be available to them,” Peng said. “Our students providing financial literacy education really helped the community, and I saw the direct benefit of that.”...

Library Publications and Grants, 2023-2024

University Library Publications and Grants Awarded, 2023-2024The 2023-2024 academic year has been a remarkable period of scholarly achievement for our library personnel. This list highlights the diverse range of publications and prestigious grants awarded, reflecting the dedication to advancing research and contributing to the broader academic community. From groundbreaking studies in the relationship between information literacy and AI to innovative observations about inclusivity in archiving, our faculty members continue to push the boundaries of knowledge in their respective fields. Works of our faculty in the 2023-2024 academic year include:Sykes-Kunk, J. C., Camacho, A., & Enriquez, S. (2024). Small axe: Chipping away at special collections barriers to inclusivity. Reference Services Review, 52(1), 100-113. https://doi.org/10.1108/RSR-03-2023-0032Chaudhuri, J., & Dobry, A. (2023). Sustainability of open-access author fund: A case study of faculty usage patterns and APC cost. Library Philosophy and Practice, 7817.Chaudhuri, J. (2024). Making education affordable for students: A case study of implementation and faculty usage of an open educational resources program. Internet Reference Services Quarterly, 28(2), 153–167. https://doi.org/10.1080/10875301.2024.2317791Camacho A., Ramirez M., & Terrones, L. (2024). Archives, Libraries, Pedagogy at the California State University, Los Angeles. In S. Browning & M. Soto-Luna (Eds.), Serving Hispanic, Latine, and Latinx students in academic libraries (pp). Litwin Publishing.Ford-Baxter, T. L. (2023). An exploration of two information literacy open learning object repositories: Value, content, and engagement. Communications in Information Literacy, 17(2), 424-450. https://doi.org/10.15760/comminfolit.2023.17.2.6 Ford-Baxter, T. (2023). Centers for Disease Controls and Prevention’s Environmental Justice Dashboard. In A.L. Adams, Ed. “Environmental & Climate Justice Resources” (pp. 218), Public Services Quarterly. https://doi.org/10.1080/15228959.2023.2242241 Kim, S., Parsons, S., Franklin, K. Y., & Parker, A. G. (2023). How do Hispanic-Serving Institutions serve Latinx students?: A panel analysis of institutional characteristics and 6-year graduation rates. The AIR Professional File. Article 159. https://doi.org/10.34315/apf1592023Archambault, S. G., Ramachandran, S., Acosta, E., & Fu, S. (2024). Ethical dimensions of algorithmic literacy for college students: Case studies and cross-disciplinary connections. The Journal of Academic Librarianship, 50(3). https://doi.org/10.1016/j.acalib.2024.102865 Masunaga, J., Peng, L., Ford-Baxter, T., & Faulkner, K. (2023). Information literacy in English-language higher education teaching journals: A review. Communications in Information Literacy, 17(2), 353-377. https://doi.org/10.15760/comminfolit.2023.17.2.3 McCaslin, D., Bottorff, D.W., & Furlong, K. (2023). Building management responsibilities for access services. In M.J. Krasulski, & T. A. Dawes (Eds.), 21st Century Access Services: On the Frontline of Academic Librarianship (89-105). Chicago: American Library Association.McCaslin, D. and Furlong, K. (2023). Emerging technology and spaces in access services. In M.J. Krasulski, & T. A. Dawes (Eds.), 21st Century Access Services: On the Frontline of Academic Librarianship (107-125). Chicago: American Library Association.McCaslin, D. and Krasulski. (2023). Access services in library and information science education. In M.J. Krasulski, & T. A. Dawes (Eds.), 21st Century Access Services: On the Frontline of Academic Librarianship (207-220). Chicago: American Library Association.And grants awarded include:Council on Library and Information Resources, Restoring the Visual Record of Meso-American Artifacts, $499,728 (Principle Investigator (PI): Azalea Camacho)Boise State University, Using XR (Extended Reality), $156,958 (PI: Sheree Fu)United States Institute for Theatre Technology, Inc., Design Resource Collection, $45,000 (PI: Carlos Rodriguez, Dean)DHSI (Title V) Grant, Reclaiming Pedagogy, Community, & Student Success, $3,000,000 (Co-PI: Carlos Rodriguez, Dean)...

Fall 2024's Featured Databases and Collections

Featured Database: Web-based and Mobile Access NewspapersIn addition to the online access to over 1,000 newspapers worldwide via the library databases, we have added subscriptions to the New York Times and Wall Street Journal web and mobile app access. The New York Times access includes Cooking, Games, and The Athletic. These sections are available for all current Cal State LA students, faculty, and staff to access for one year from your activation date. For details on activating and accessing both papers, please click the highlighted links to review the dedicated access pages. Additionally, web and mobile access to the Chronicle of Higher Education is available via the Library Databases A-Z list. Featured General Collection: Cultural Heritage Collection & DisplaysThe University Library's cultural heritage book displays create a dynamic and inclusive space for learning, appreciating, and celebrating human heritage. Featuring materials that reflect diverse cultures and perspectives, these displays align with the library's mission to foster learning, understanding, and appreciation of various cultures and histories. By showcasing a wide array of cultural narratives, the library aims to bridge gaps between different communities and promote a sense of diversity through knowledge and experiences. Our displays highlight the traditions, histories, and narratives that shape our communities, emphasizing works by diverse authors, including those from our own community members. This approach not only celebrates our rich heritage but also gives a platform to voices that might otherwise go unheard. Each display is carefully curated to educate the campus community about different cultures, traditions, and historical events, fostering a greater understanding and appreciation of cultural diversity. Through these displays, we aim to spark curiosity, stimulate conversation, and create connections among students and faculty alike. This inspiration encourages students to explore their own identities and histories and prompts deeper reflection on the broader human experience. The existing library displays cover a range of significant cultural and historical themes, including Black History Month, Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month, LGBTQ+ Pride Month, Hispanic Heritage Month, Banned Books Week, Open Access Week, and National Native American Heritage Month. These displays are not static; we continuously develop additional themes to enrich our community's cultural experience. Each new display adds another layer of depth and understanding to our diverse knowledge, ensuring that the library remains a vibrant hub of cultural education and appreciation. All displays are presented in the Reading Lounge on the 2nd floor of Library North. We invite everyone to check the Library Event Calendar for upcoming displays and events. By visiting these displays, and checking out the books, you can immerse yourself in the diverse tapestry of human heritage and contribute to the ongoing celebration and understanding of cultural diversity. Featured Special Collection: The Gloria Arellanes Papers, East LA ArchivesThe East Los Angeles Archives (ELAA) is housed in Cal State LA's Special Collection and Archives, and is comprised of collections which document the lives and events of a historical community central to the social, political, and cultural history of the Chicano/Latino community in the United States. The ELAA is a program that advances scholarship in Chicano/Latino studies and Los Angeles history through its varied collection of primary research materials. This archive has a special interest in materials documenting the Chicano and Civil Rights movements in East Los Angeles during the 1960s and 1970s. Gloria Arellanes (1946-) and Dionne Espinoza (Professor of History, Cal State LA) identified a large percentage of the contents of the files. Arellanes was born in East Los Angeles and raised in El Monte, California. She attended El Monte High School in the early 1960s and in the late 1960s she became Minister of Finance and Correspondence of the Chicano Brown Beret organization’s founding East Los Angeles Chapter. As Minister of Finance and Correspondence she wrote press releases, letters, and edited La Causa, the East Los Angeles based Brown Beret Newspaper. She also served as administrator of El Barrio Free Clinic and was a member of the National Chicano Moratorium Committee (1969-1970). She attended the Poor People’s Campaign in Washington, D.C. (1968), and the Denver Youth Conferences (1969 and 1970). After leaving the Brown Beret organization in early 1970, she organized the women’s group, Las Adelitas de Aztlán. She also coordinated la Clínica del Barrio and continued as a health care worker through the late 1970s.The bulk of the collection includes political flyers and broadsides, newspapers, books, buttons, posters and photographs dating from 1967 to the late 1970s. The collection is organized into eight series: I. Subject/Topical Files; II. Programs, Flyers and Broadsides III. Newspapers; IV. Clippings V. Publications; VI. Photographs; VII. Posters; VIII. Ephemera. View the collection guide....