Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
university logo

University Library

The Library is Open (Online)

This guide provides updates to library services during the Covid-19 Pandemic.

Library Updates

  • Online Resources: Databases, Journal Articles, E-books, Streaming Media, etc. continue to be available 24/7. Please read the "Accessing Resources from Home" box below for directions on the best way to access them.
  • Access to Physical Collections: The library is now offering the service of shipping items from our physical collections to current library users. If there is a book or DVD in OneSearch that you need simply login to OneSearch, click the request button, and enter the address where you would like the item sent. Please note:
    • Each patron may have up to 5 active requests at any one time. The maximum number of items you are allowed to have checked out concurrently is unchanged.  Click the How many items may be checked out link for more information. 
    • Only books and DVDs are eligible for request, for journal articles please submit an InterLibrary Loan request (see ILL section below).
    • Items can only be shipped within the USA and will be shipped via the US Postal Service. Please allow at least 10-15 days for delivery.
  • Access to ebook Collections: You can also access our ebooks 24/7. Below are some tools you can use to access ebooks.
    • OneSearch -- Is the library catalog that you can use to find eBooks owned or subscribed by the library as well as many open-access eBooks.  To use OneSearch, visit the library web homepage (library.calstatela.edu).  Checkout our OneSearch Guide for searching tips. 
    • WorldCat -- You can use WorldCat (worldcat.org) to find out whether the ebooks you need are available at your local public libraries. Many public libraries offer curbside pick-up options for print books also.  
    • Google Books--Search Google Books (books.google.com) to find out whether the book you need is available free online.
  • Returning Materials: The Library has extended the due date to June 15th, 2021 for all items and borrowers. We ask that you hold onto your checked-out books for now, if possible. For books that are already overdue, or if you have an urgent need to return your books now, please contact us by emailing library@calstatela.edu.
  • Interlibrary Loan (ILL) and CSU+: We are currently not able to request physical books or DVDs through Interlibrary Loan (ILL) or CSU+. We are still making every effort to fill article and book chapter requests electronically.
    • You can make an article request directly from your OneSearch results. Always make sure that you are signed in to your library account to see the request option. 
    • For ebook and print book chapter requests, please fill out the ILL form by logging into your ILL account from the Library’s Interlibrary Loan page and request one (1) chapter per request form.  Check out our Step-by-step directions for tips. 
    • Per copyright restrictions, only two (2) chapters from any single book or two (2) articles from any single journal issue can be requested.  
    • Please be aware that in many cases, our lenders may not be available to fill our requests during the pandemic.  The Library will notify you in a timely manner if your request cannot be fulfilled.    
  • Course Reserve Requests: To request an item be placed on course reserve, please use the Course Reserves Submission Form.  At this time, we can process course reserve requests for ebooks, scans of portions of the print materials owned by the library, and instructor-provided scanned materials. Items will be placed electronically on reserve as a Canvas Reading List. For more information see our Canvas Reading Tool page. We will not be able to make copies of printed material or physical media available until after the library building reopens. Please contact reserves@calstatela.edu with any questions.

  • Special Collections & Archives: Access to the Special Collections Reading room will not be available until further notice. During this time, we are providing remote reference services and instructional support. To request assistance please email us.
  • Purchase Requests: Currently, we can only purchase ebooks. We will resume purchasing physical materials when the Library reopens. If there is an ebook you would like us to purchase, please email your subject librarian

Typically, we are not able to purchase textbooks because publishers don’t make them available as an ebook for institutional access via libraries and/or they are cost-prohibitive. One alternative option is to adopt an OER textbook because they are free and easily accessible. Subject librarians can help you with locating an OER option.

  • Printing: Printing is currently not available at Cal State LA Library. LA County Libraries have wireless printing available with 10 free pages per day.
  • Fines: All fines are waived during the library closure. If you have a question about fines charged before the library closed please contact us at library@calstatela.edu.

Accessing Resources from Home

When you access library electronic resources from off-campus, you need to use one of the following methods. Using OneSearch will automatically prompt the campus Network login.

1.  Campus VPN  (Recommended)

Setting up VPN (Virtual Private Network) on your personal computer allows students, faculty, and staff to access library resources from off-campus.

  • Download the VPN client 
  • Once VPN is installed on your computer, you turn it on by clicking the Connect button (shown below).

    Global Protect Icon 

2.  Library Login  (Default)

When you are off-campus and click on library electronic resources, you will be prompted to login using the EZproxy Login screen (shown below). Login using your MyCalStateLA ID username and password.

     

Please note:

  • Place your MyCalStateLA ID account username (e.g. lsmith8) in the username box. Do not include @calstatela.edu as part of your username.
  • If you don't know your MyCalStateLA password, please go to the myCalStateLA page and click on "Forgot Password."
  • If you experience difficulty in recovering your ID username and password, please contact the ITS Help Desk at helpdesk@calstatela.edu or 323-343-6170.
John F. Kennedy Memorial Library
California State University, Los Angeles
5151 State University Drive
Los Angeles, CA 90032-8300
323-343-3988