LibGuides: Criminal Justice: Finding Articles

VPN

VPN Virtual Private Networking
Sometimes the Proxy Server may have issues. If you have problems accessing resources off-campus with the Proxy Server, you may want to install the VPN to access the Library's resources from off-campus. The VPN connection is usually faster than the Proxy Server.

Databases

There are several databases that you can use to find articles. Remember that subject databases will only include journals that are within that particular subject area. In addition to the two main criminal justice databases, at the top of the list below, you will also find other databases useful. For instance, if you want the sociological perspective on crime, you could also use Sociological Abstracts, and for a psychological perspective, you could also use PsycInfo.

Some databases are more general. Academic Search Complete covers most academic subjects, while Science Direct is a good source for scientific articles.

Interested in the academic conversation of a topic, the history, or current science, then Web of Science is for you! In Web of Science, you can easily find linked citations from an article. Web of Science also shows articles that have cited the primary article since it was published.

Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
The subjects covered represent the entire range of criminal justice topics including: criminal law and behavioral sciences, criminal procedure, corrections, search and seizure, evidence, family law, forensic sciences, policing practices and procedures, quantitative issues and research methods, social science issues and law enforcement, trends and innovations in law enforcement, victims' rights, etc. Coverage: Varies; most titles from 1986 - the present. A variety of help options are available:
Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new window
The subjects covered represent the entire range of criminal justice topics including: criminal law and behavioral sciences, criminal procedure, corrections, search and seizure, evidence, family law, forensic sciences, policing practices and procedures, quantitative issues and research methods, social science issues and law enforcement, trends and innovations in law enforcement, victims' rights, etc. Coverage: Varies; most titles from 1986 - the present. A variety of help options are available:
ERIC This link opens in a new window The Educational Resource Information Center includes peer-reviewed articles, reports, conference papers, curriculum and teaching guides, and non-scholarly articles focused on education, including early childhood to higher education, and throughout the lifespan. Includes research on cognitive psychology. 
ERIC is also available via Proquest, OCLC FirstSearch, and at ERIC website with access to full text documents from 1993-present. ERIC consists of two files:
- CIJE - Current Index to Journals in Education which indexes over 750 professional journals - all are assigned ERIC numbers beginning with an EJ (Eric journal).
- RIE - Resources in Education which indexes a variety of documents; all are assigned ERIC numbers beginning with an ED (Eric document). OCLC provides access to online full-text ED records via subscription links to EDRS Not all ED documents are available online. Inclusion depends on the authors original copyright agreement with EDRS. Typically 80% of ED documents permit online full-text usage. HINT: on OCLC look for the EDRS link at the bottom of the detailed record.
A variety of help options are available:
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline’s Government, Politics, and Law This link opens in a new window
Criminal Justice, by OneFile This link opens in a new window
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
PubMed This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
WestlawNext Campus Research This link opens in a new window
It includes the legal encyclopedia American Jurisprudence 2nd and American Law Reports, as well as Black's Law Dictionary and Campus Research Legal Guides.

Primary legal information--Cases from courts in all 50 states and the District of Columbia and from the federal courts since 1789; reported and unpublished decisions; statutes and regulations from all 50 states and federal statues published in the United States Code Annotated (USCA); Federal regulations published in the Federal Register and the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR)
Secondary sources--American Jurisprudence 2d, a comprehensive encyclopedia of state and federal law; American Law Reports (ALR) articles that summarize and analyze court decisions on a particular legal issue; hundreds of journals and law reviews from leading law schools
The database also covers news and business informaiton

GUIDES:

Peer Reviewed?

Ulrich's Web This link opens in a new window
A directory that provides detailed information on a wide range of publications, including academic journals, open-access publications, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more from around the world. It covers all subjects and is a good tool for determining the type of content, such as if it's peer-reviewed.
Cabells Journalytics This link opens in a new window
Double check journal titles in this database to see if they are true peer-reviewed journals or journals from predatory publishers.

Research Methods

Sage Research Methods Suite This link opens in a new window Includes Sage Research Methods, Sage Research Methods Cases, and Sage Research Methods Datasets. Sage Research Methods is a research methods tool and links Sage's book, journal, and reference content with advanced search and discovery tools.
SAGE Research Methods Cases is a collection of hundreds of case studies of real social research. SAGE Research Methods Datasets is a collection of teaching datasets that can be used to support the teaching of quantitative and qualitative analytical methods used in the social sciences.
Sage Research Methods is a reseaerch methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. Sage Research Methods links over 200,000 pages of Sage's book, journal and reference content with advanced search and discovery tools. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, counduct their research, adn write up their findings. Since Sage Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more.

SAGE Research Methods Cases is a collection of hundreds of case studies of real social research, specially commissioned and designed to support teaching and learning in research
methods. Each case is written to help students understand the often abstract-feeling methodological concepts by seeing how methods have been used in actual projects.

SAGE Research Methods Datasets is a collection of teaching datasets that can be used to support the teaching of quantitative and qualitative analytical methods used in the social sciences. These are datasets taken from larger national and international data sources, cleaned and reduced in size and complexity for teaching and self-study purposes, perfect for researchers, learning a new method, or brushing up on a familiar one.

Guide

Sage Research Methods Libguide

History Databases

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed articles, non-scholarly articles, and book reviews on the history of the U.S. and Canada from 1493.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed and non-scholarly articles on world history (1450 to present), excluding the U.S. and Canada. Special search functions include searching by historical time period.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed articles across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select ebooks and other materials.

Newspapers

Alternative Press Index Archive (1969-1990) This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1969-1990
College in Context This link opens in a new window
Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Global Newsstream provides collections of news from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Global Newsstream incorporates the U.S. Newsstream, Canadian Newsstream, and International Newsstream databases. All titles are cross searchable on the ProQuest platform.

DIRECT LINKS TO MAJOR NEWSPAPERS:
Historical Los Angeles Times (1881-1994) This link opens in a new window
Historical New York Times (1851-2019) This link opens in a new window
News, by Gale OneFile This link opens in a new window
LegalTrac This link opens in a new window
Los Angeles Times (1985-current) This link opens in a new window
GUIDES: