In this guide, you will find:

• Collection updates (new resources, trials, cancellations, and platform/feature updates).
• The University Library Collection Development Policy and collection management guidelines and procedures.
• Request forms and information on where to go for help.
• A basic troubleshooting guide for common e-resource access issues.
• Information about the Collections, Discovery, and Content Management (CDCM) unit, as well as the Collections Strategies Committee (CSC).
• Additional training, webinar, and conference information.
• And more!

This is a work-in-progress guide.  You will find updates and new content from time to time, so visit often.

ALMA: The back end of the library catalog

CDCM: (Collections, Discovery, and Content Management) The department in the library that houses collections development, electronic resources management, cataloging, and acquisitions. 

CSC: Collections Strategies Committee

Electronic Resource: Electronic library materials such as databases, journals, eBooks, streaming media, etc.

EZProxy: the authentication system users must sign into to access library e-resources while off campus.

The proxy prefix URL: https://mimas.calstatela.edu/login?url= 

More information: using the proxy prefix to create permalinks for users.

Firm Order: A one-time purchase.

PRIMO: The front end of the library catalog and discovery layer, branded as OneSearch.

Rialto: The ordering platform within ALMA, shown as Market

Turnaways: usage statistics that show us how many times users were denied access to eBook or journal titles the library does NOT subscribe to. Used to help determine what we should add to our collection. 

VPN: (Virtual Private Network) The campus VPN allows users to access library electronic resources while off-campus without having to login through EZProxy.