Collections Guide

Black Studies  Trial
Trial ends: March 23, 2025
Contains primary and secondary sources, leading historical Black newspapers, archival documents, government materials, video, writings  by major American Black intellectuals and leaders, and essays by top scholars in Black Studies.  Please let us know your thoughts on this  trial by filling out the Trial Evaluation Form.

Mergent Market Atlas    Trial
Trial ends: June 30th, 2025

Mergent Online, one of the CSU Electronic Core Collections, is being discontinued by the vendor in Summer 2025. In the meantime, free trial access to Mergent Market Atlas, a potential replacement resource, is available to all CSU campuses through June 30, 2025.  You can access the trial from the Databases A-Z list.

Please let us know the usefulness of Mergent Market Atlas by filling out the Trial Evaluation Form. Thank you.

Trial ends: September 15, 2023

A continually expanding resource offering streaming psychotherapy videos that provide a gateway for students, educators, and practitioners to witness first-hand, proven approaches and common obstacles faced during therapy sessions. As a dynamic teaching and learning tool, APA PsycTherapy provides a rich assortment of filmed interactions between known therapists and individuals, couples, and families.

Please kindly let us know the usefulness of PsycTherapy by filling out the Trial Evaluation Form. Thank you.

• EBSCO Database Cancellation
  Beginning September 1, 2024, the following EBSCO databases will be removed from the Databases A-Z list and Alma for OneSearch.  This cancellation is the result of the campus mandated budget reduction. A thorough usage analysis and consultation with our liaison librarians and departmental faculty were conducted to arrive at the cancellation decision.
  • Ageline
  • Alt-Health Watch
  • AP Newsroom
  • Humanities International Index
  • Mental Measurements with Tests

• Wiley Journal Changes
  Beginning in January 2024, Wiley will add 12 new journals, while 27 journals leave Wiley.  For details, please review the Wiley Title Change in SharePoint.
   
• Wiley eTextBook Extension
  Wiley has once again extended the access to its 1,379 eTextbooks via Proquest eBook Central.  The current extension will end in December 2026. 
   
• Jove Cancellation

  We paid for a two-year subscription to JoVE using the HEERF fund, and our subscription will expire at the end of December 2023.  Given the relatively low usage, and no funds in the electronic resource budget allocation to continue the subscription, and discussed with librarians whose subject areas are covered by JoVE, the decision is that we are not moving forward with the renewal.   We’ll remove the access point from the A-Z list and deactivate access on OneSearch at the end of the month. 

• Sage Data Planet Database Name Change
  The Sage database previously known as Data Planet has been rebranded to Sage Data CORE. The name has been updated in the A-Z list, with Data Planet listed as an alternate name, so students and faculty can still find the listing by searching for either name.
   
• eBook Central December 2023 title removal
  To see a list of eBook Central removals, visit: Sharepoint  > User Services > Shared Documents > Collection Development (by year)
   
• World Scholar: Latin America And The Caribbean Regional Portal
  This database is part of the Gale Access Program.  We have learned recently (October 26, 2023) that a new collection (Archives of Latin American and Caribbean History) has replaced the World Scholar database, and it is no longer available through bundled Gale Access Program.  We have removed the entry on the A-Z list and will be in conversation with Gale about potential replacement if we continue to renew the Gale Access Program package.
   
• Wiley Journal Package Title Changes
  There are titles added to Wiley and titles leaving Wiley effective January 2024.   These changes have been posted in SharePoint.  OneSearch and Journals Search will be updated by January 1, 2024 to reflect the change.  Please review the changes and contact CDCM if you have any questions.  
   
• EdWeek & African American Biographical Database

  We have temporarily removed both the EdWeek and African American Biographical Databases from public access on our Databases A-Z list.

  EdWeek is funded by the College of Education (COE). However, due to insufficient funds available for renewing the database subscription, the College has decided to pause the subscription temporarily.

  As for the African American Biographical Database, it has been integrated into the Black Studies database. Consequently, the link to the African American Biographical Database on our A-Z list is no longer functional. We do not have a subscription to the Black Studies database. Our African American Biographical Database subscription is administered through the Chancellor's Office and remains active. We are actively collaborating with Proquest and CO to explore potential solutions to this situation. We will keep you informed as we gather more information and work towards a resolution.

• eBook Central June 2023 title removal

To see a list of eBook Central removals, visit: Sharepoint  > User Services > Shared Documents  > Collection Development (by year)

• Cancel the McNaughton popular reading lease. 

Current contract will end on June 30^th.  CSC has proposed to purchase all titles in current McNaughton contract for $2.50 each, and place them in the upcoming Reading Lounge when it's ready.  For the time being, these titles will continue to be placed on the bookshelves in front of the OUX desk. 

• The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research

Originally requested by the Pat Brown Institute was no longer needed by the institute.  It was canceled and removed from the Databases A-Z list.  

• Oxford English Dictionary

On July 18th, the Oxford English Dictionary will be moving to a new platform. The URL will remain the same.  Please see the following page for more information and to sign up for additional updates from Oxford University Press if desired: Oxford English Dictionary Platform Migration Updates

• Ovid User Interface Improvements

On Thursday, July 6th 2023, Ovid will be making updates to My Workspace pages including the electronic table of contents (eTOC) sign-up workflow, modify personal account page, and forgot password flow. They also fixed a number of bugs. Please note, the eTOC pages will change for all Ovid products as the technical set-up doesn't allow for two of these pages to exist at once.

• CQ Researcher

CQ Researcher is migrating to a new platform in July. According to Sage, old URLs (https://library.cqpress.com) will continue to redirect to the new site for the foreseeable future, but if you have any links saved for the old platform, please plan to update them to the new URL one the migration happens: https://mimas.calstatela.edu/login?url=https://cqpress.sagepub.com

• Artstor Images on JSTOR

The Artstor database platform will be retired and all users will be redirected to JSTOR on August 1, 2024.   By then the Artstor entry on the Databases A-Z list will be removed.  

• Archived updates will be posted every six months.