LibGuides: CHEM 4890: Molecular Science Capstone: Find Sources

Databases and Journals

ACS Publications This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to over 30 journal publications by the American Chemical Society.
ArticleFirst This link opens in a new window
Indexes 16,000 journals. This database does not use descriptors, subject headings, or have any genuine abstracts. Includes business, medicine, science, technology, the humanities, popular culture, technology, and social science subjects.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts for peer-reviewed research in health sciences, mental health, public health, and a wide range of biomedical research areas. Can be used to find eBooks, clinical trials results, systematic reviews, meta-analysis, randomized controlled trials, and case studies.
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
Jointly provided by the College of Natural & Social Sciences, Dept. of Chemistry, and the University Library, SciFinder-n is a portal to chemistry and related information offering online access to Chemical Abstracts (1907-present) and other chemical databases. Includes abstracts for chemical journal articles, patents, information on structures, reactions, compounds, drug development, and manufacturing and allows for structure searching.
SciFinder-n is a new interface of the SciFinder Scholar. Your current SciFinder Scholar ID and password can be used with either platform.
First Time User, Please Register before Accessing
Following the steps below to register for your SciFinderⁿ account (Cal State LA students/faculty/staff only):

1. If you are a new user of SciFinderⁿ, first you need to register for a user ID and password using the Registration Link. For a step-by-step guide of how to register, visit How to Register to Use SciFinder page.
2. During registration, you need to accept the User Agreement and enter all contact information. Be sure to use your Cal State LA email address as your contact email. Create a username and password that are different from your Cal State LA user name and password.
3. After clicking Register, you will receive a confirmation email. Click the link included in the email to complete the registration process.
4. Once you have completed your registration, you can access SciFinderⁿ and login using your registered user name and password.
SciFinder-n adoption:
• Use the migration guide to learn how to migrate your current saved answers and alerts from SciFinder®
• Access the SciFinder-n quick start guide for a step-by-step journey into the product
• SciFinder-n How-To videos.

Science in Context This link opens in a new window
Provides contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. The collection includes millions of peer-reviewed and non-scholarly articles, as well as 200+ experiments, video, audio, projects, and encyclopedia articles.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles and reference works on wide range of disciplines including health, physical sciences, social sciences, the humanities, and more.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed articles and ebooks in a wide range of the sciences and social sciences.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed articles, reviews, books, and conference proceedings in various disciplines of science, including physical and life sciences.

NIST Chemistry WebBook
The National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) provides free access to chemical and property data for over 70,000 compounds. Information includes CAS registry numbers, synonyms, and structures.

PubChem This link opens in a new window
An open chemistry reference source by the National Institute of Health (NIH). Contains information on small and large molecules, chemical structures, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety, toxicity data, and more, from government agencies, chemical vendors, journal publishers, and others.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A great starting place for any research topic. Includes a wealth of peer-reviewed and non-scholarly articles on a wide range of topics and disciplinary areas.
Sage Premier Collection This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed articles in the social sciences, humanities, medicine, engineering, and physical and life sciences.

ACS Central Science
ACS Central Science publishes the most compelling, important primary reports on research in chemistry and in allied fields, wherein chemical approaches play a key role.
ACS Omega
ACS Omega is an open-access global publication for scientific articles that describe new findings in chemistry and interfacing areas of science, without any perceived evaluation of immediate impact.
Biomed Centeral (BMC)
BMC is the open access (O.A) area of Springer Nature. There are a number of O.A. chemistry journal in BMC, including Chemistry Central Journal, Journal of Cheminformatics, and Biotechnology for Biofuels.
bioRxiv
bioRxiv (pronounced "bio-archive") is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. The scope includes biochemistry.
Frontiers
Frontiers is an open access publisher with several chemistry journals. Examples include Chemistry and Materials journals.
Open Access in ScienceDirect
You can search for journals with open access through ScienceDirect. Select open access under the access type filter. Covers topics in chemistry, chemical engineering and biochemistry.
PLOS
Features seven open access journals: PLOS ONE, PLOS BIOLOGY, PLOS MEDICINE, PLOS COMPUTATIONAL BIOLOGY, PLOS GENETICS, PLOS NEGLECTED TROPICAL DISEASES, AND PLOS PATHOGENS
The Royal Society of Chemistry Open Access Journals
Chemical Science, Nanoscale Advances, and RSC Advances are all open access journals available through RSC online.

Web Resources

NIST Chemistry WebBook
The NIST Chemistry WebBook provides chemical and physical property data for atoms, molecules, ions, and other chemical species.It also includes IR, 15K mass, and 1.6 UV/Vis spectra.
PubChem
PubChem is maintained by the NIH and offers information on chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety, toxicity data.
Table of Physical and Chemical Constants
Thermodynamic, electrical, mechanical, acoustical data are just some of the types of data. All charts, tables, formulas, and graphs are included (Currano & Roth, 2014, p. 162).

Know-it-all
This software is free and offered from Bio-Rad. you can draw structures, perform IR and Raman functional group analysis, and generate high-quality reports.
Spectral Database for Organic Compounds
This database is provided by the National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology. Users can search by compound name, molecular weight, or CAS registry number. IR, NMR, MS< Raman, and ESR spectra are available.
Peptide Atlas
This website offers a compendium of peptides identified from tandem mass spectrometery proteomics experiments.
SpectraBase
This website includes NMR, IR, UV-Vis, and Mass spectra. It allows you to upload your own spectrum for comparison.

PAN Pesticide Database
This database is provided by the Pesticide Action Network. Users can search by chemicals, products, and poisoning diagnostic information.
Toxicology Literature in PubMed
Additional Toxicology Information Locations

The Cambridge Structural Database (CSD)
CSD includes over 900,000 entries for small-molecule crystal structures.
ChemSpider
ChemSpider allows users to search over 25 million structures.

CSU+ and Interlibrary Loan

If you can't find an article or book through the library, then you can use CSU+ in OneSearch or Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to request a copy of your article or book for free from another library. You will need to register the first time you use Interlibrary Loan. We recommend using CSU+ first as you will typically get your material quicker than with Interlibrary Loan.

You can view additional FAQ on the CSU+ and ILL Topic Page.