|
Application Deadline: December 2nd, 2024
The University Library at California State University, Los Angeles, seeks Library & Information Science students currently enrolled in an ALA-accredited graduate program for a dynamic and enriching internship experience. Our library provides user-centered services that support student success by cultivating information literacy skills and ensuring access to resources. We proudly serve a diverse community of approximately 22,000 full- and part-time students, reflecting the rich cultural and ethnic diversity of the surrounding communities.
Internship Overview
Interns will engage in various hands-on projects and activities tailored to their interests and expertise. This internship is designed to provide practical experience in academic librarianship, including information literacy instruction, research consultation, collection management, and special collections processing. Interns will work alongside experienced librarians and staff and participate in one or more of the following areas:
- Information Literacy Instruction: Contribute to the library’s information literacy program by assisting in developing and delivering course-integrated instruction sessions, workshops, and other teaching activities. This work aligns with the ACRL Information Literacy Framework, emphasizing concepts such as authority, inquiry, and the value of information. Projects may include co-teaching information literacy sessions, developing an instructional repository, and creating information literacy tutorials.
- Reference and Research Support: Support reference services by responding to informational and research-related questions, including online chat reference services, and guide users in formulating research topics and effective search strategies.
- Collection Management: Engage in collection management projects, such as data clean-up, updating catalog records in Alma and OCLC, providing acquisitions and analytics support, and assisting in subscription licensing mapping.
- Special Collections and Archives: Gain experience working with rare and unique materials by processing collections, developing finding aids, curating digital exhibitions, and contributing to digital collections. Projects may include transcription, indexing, metadata creation for oral histories, archival processing, and clean-up work in ArchivesSpace.
Based on individual interests and expertise, additional learning opportunities may include
collaborating on special library projects or initiatives, and engaging in outreach efforts to enhance library services for diverse student populations.
Internship Duration and Compensation
- Duration: One semester
- Compensation: Unpaid (free on-campus parking is provided)
This internship offers a valuable opportunity to develop essential library skills, gain academic library experience, and work in a dynamic and diverse environment.
To apply, please send a letter of interest and a current CV to the library internship coordinator, Holly Yu (hyu3@calstatela.edu), Head of Collections, Discovery, and Content Management. Please include “Internship Application” in the subject line.
|
