The vast library electronic and print resources include scholarly/peer-reviewed journal articles, ebooks, print books, primary sources, streaming media, newspaper articles, data and statistic resources, and reference sources covering all subject disciplines offered at Cal State LA and support your learning, research, creative activities, community engagement, and career development needs.
How to Find and Access Library Resources?
All library online resources are accessible on-campus and remotely from off-campus.
Access to all library resources must be from the Library Web homepage at https://www.calstatela.edu/library. You can use OneSearch or select a database by clicking the Databases button on the library homepage to start your search.
What Is OneSearch?
OneSearch searches across a spectrum of databases, journal articles, newspaper articles, primary sources, streaming videos/music, print books, and DVDs. It can also search for books in all 22 CSU libraries. The powerful search platform makes it easy to find, cite, save, and share journal/magazine/newspaper articles, books, and media at the University Library and across all CSU Libraries.
Log in Using Your Campus Network Credentials
When you access library electronic resources from off-campus, the website does not recognize you as a Cal State LA student. You may encounter error messages when trying to access library resources, such as full-text is not available, you have no access, or you are asked to pay for access. To identify you as a Cal State LA student so you can access all library resources smoothly, free, and without encountering these errors, you need to access them via the Library homepage and use one of the following methods when you are off-campus.
1. Campus VPN (Recommended)For Students
For Faculty and Staff
Steps 1-3 are only required for the initial setup. The login information entered into the GlobalProtect application is saved and used for all subsequent logins. |
2. Direct Logn (Default) If you have not turned on your VPN when you are off-campus and access the library's electronic resources, either through the A-Z database list or OneSearch, you will be prompted to login using the “Students/Faculty/Staff” link (shown below). Login using your MyCalStateLA ID username including @calstatela.edu and password or click the “Students/Faculty/Staff” link. 
Please note:
|
Below is a brief overview of the types of resources and where you can access them.
|
Resource Type |
How to Access |
Notes & Guides |
|
Journal Articles |
You can find journal articles by searching for OneSearch, specific databases, or specific journals. |
If you are using the database or journal search, you will first need to select a database before searching for a specific topic or article. |
|
To access a media database, click the Databases link from the library homepage, and select Media from the All Database Types box. |
||
|
You can search and access ebooks in OneSearch or in an individual ebook database. To find a database click the Databases link from the library homepage and select E-Books from the All Database Types box. |
E-Book Guide
|
|
|
You can search and access over 1000 US and international newspapers in OneSearch or in a newspaper database. This includes the New York Times, Los Angeles Times, and other major U.S. papers. To access, click the Databases link from the library web homepage, and select Newspapers from the All Database Types box. |
||
| To access, click the Databases link from the library web homepage, and select Primary Sources from the All Database Types box. | Primary Source Guide
|
|
| Reference Tools | To access, click the Databases link from the library web homepage, and select Reference from the All Database Types box | Reference Sources Online |
