LibGuides: Political Science: Databases

Helpful Databases

Academic Search Complete
A great starting place for any research topic. Includes a wealth of peer-reviewed and non-scholarly articles on a wide range of topics and disciplinary areas.
CQ Researcher
Non-scholarly reports and analysis on issues in the news. Reports are written by journalists and professionally fact-checked. Each report includes an introductory overview, background and timeline, assessment of the current situation, tables and maps, a pro/con debate, and a list of further reading.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature including peer-reviewed articles, conference papers, and reports. If you use the Google Scholar link on this page, your article search results will be linked to collections in Cal State LA.
JSTOR
Peer-reviewed articles across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select ebooks and other materials.
Social Sciences Full Text
Peer-reviewed articles in sociology, psychology, anthropology, geography, economics, political science, and law.
Statista Pro
Statistics and data platform that focuses on the economic, business, and marketing fields. The sources for the statistics come from a wide range of fields, including energy and the environment, advertising, health, hospitality, consumer goods, and many more.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
U.S. Census statistics on population, health, education, employment, public aid, and more. Data is available through 2011.
The Statistical Abstract of the United States web site contains statistical tables from the print version of the Statistical Abstract, tables from USA Statistics in Brief, tables giving state rankings (in population, health, education, employment, public aid, social security, income, crime, energy, business, federal funds, motor vehicles), state and county statistical profiles, and tables giving economic statistics for the United States.
There is a special page highlighting all Frequently Requested Tables from the Frequently Requested Tables from the Statistical Abstract

NOTE: IMPORTANT: If you do not know EXACTLY which number table you want, use the INDEX at the end of the Table of Contents!
WestlawNext Campus Research
Legal materials including cases, statutes, and regulations of the U.S. government and state governments as well as full text legal law reviews and journals, newspapers, encyclopedias, briefs, case summaries, treatises, and more.
It includes the legal encyclopedia American Jurisprudence 2nd and American Law Reports, as well as Black's Law Dictionary and Campus Research Legal Guides.

Primary legal information--Cases from courts in all 50 states and the District of Columbia and from the federal courts since 1789; reported and unpublished decisions; statutes and regulations from all 50 states and federal statues published in the United States Code Annotated (USCA); Federal regulations published in the Federal Register and the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR)
Secondary sources--American Jurisprudence 2d, a comprehensive encyclopedia of state and federal law; American Law Reports (ALR) articles that summarize and analyze court decisions on a particular legal issue; hundreds of journals and law reviews from leading law schools
The database also covers news and business informaiton

GUIDES:
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Peer-reviewed and non-scholarly articles in political science, international relations, law, and public administration/policy.

Databases Used for Government Information
A complete list of Cal State LA databases used to search government information. Descriptions provided under each database link.