LibGuides: Political Science: Newspapers

Newspapers Databases

Global Newsstream - Formerly Newsstand, Global Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content with archives that stretch back into the 1980s from over 2,500 news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites in full-text form.

Major Newspapers Databases - Links to some major newspapers databases.

U.S. Newspapers

Los Angeles Times (1985-current)
Southern California's largest daily newspaper.
GUIDES:
Historical Los Angeles Times (1881-1994)
Historical back issues of the newspaper including all articles, editorials, classified ads, comics, cartoons, photos, maps, and graphics. For electronic access to current Los Angeles Times from 1985 to present, use Los Angeles Times (1985-present).
New York Times (1980-present)
A newspaper archive of the print version of the New York Times to 1980. For older back issues, see the New York Times Historical (1851-2019), and for current digital coverage, see New York Times - Digital Edition.
WestlawNext Campus Research
Legal materials including cases, statutes, and regulations of the U.S. government and state governments as well as full text legal law reviews and journals, newspapers, encyclopedias, briefs, case summaries, treatises, and more.
It includes the legal encyclopedia American Jurisprudence 2nd and American Law Reports, as well as Black's Law Dictionary and Campus Research Legal Guides.

Primary legal information--Cases from courts in all 50 states and the District of Columbia and from the federal courts since 1789; reported and unpublished decisions; statutes and regulations from all 50 states and federal statues published in the United States Code Annotated (USCA); Federal regulations published in the Federal Register and the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR)
Secondary sources--American Jurisprudence 2d, a comprehensive encyclopedia of state and federal law; American Law Reports (ALR) articles that summarize and analyze court decisions on a particular legal issue; hundreds of journals and law reviews from leading law schools
The database also covers news and business informaiton

GUIDES:

Ethnic Newspapers & Magazines

Ethnic NewsWatch
Current and historical news from the 1980s to current. News sources cover the culture and history of ethnic and minority issues, including minority and native press publications, in a variety of languages.
Global Newsstream
Up-to-date global news content with archives that stretch back into the 1980s. Sources include newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites in full-text form.
Global Newsstream provides collections of news from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Global Newsstream incorporates the U.S. Newsstream, Canadian Newsstream, and International Newsstream databases. All titles are cross searchable on the ProQuest platform.

DIRECT LINKS TO MAJOR NEWSPAPERS:
OmniFile Full Text Mega
Peer-reviewed articles on several core subjects, including art, education, humanities, law, social sciences, and technology. Provides topical coverage on ethnic studies, women's studies, and history.
Readers' Guide Full Text Mega
Covers nearly 400 popular and general interest magazines.