Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
university logo

University Library

California public policy resources

Steps

Find and read the bill history
Find and read the statute
Find a copy of the bill and read the bill analysis
Look at any hearings or agency reports related to your issue
Find copies of regulations based on the statute.

Tracing California legislation

One way of researching policy is to trace the history of legislation around a certain topic or issue. It may be helpful to:

  • Read policy briefs to get a sense of your topic; identify an issue (See Getting Started)
  • Find a significant bill related to the issue
  • Locate the bill and read the bill history and analyses
  • Look at any related hearings or agency reports  
  • Find and read the related statute (the bill that has become law); look at the law in the Annotated Codes
  • Find copies of regulations based on the statute or chapter

See also: Office of the Chief Clerk's glossary and guides to California legislation, including lifecycle of legislation and legislative process

California Courts
Published by the Judicial Council of California. Click on "reference" option on top toolbar and search materials by subject.

Legislative Index
Current session. Searchable by subject.

California State Senate
Click on Legislation. Search by keyword. Site includes a bill, bill history and bill analysis (see also Bill Information)
Also: search SOR Legislative highlights for overviews of bills passed for each year

Bill Information 
California bills and background information, from 1993 to present. Limit to session/house. Search by bill, author, or keyword. Site includes bill, bill history and analysis. Once you have a bill number you can access the full text of bills, including status, history, votes, analyses, and veto messages.

Digest of Significant Legislation
Major Assembly and Senate bills are arranged by subject. Each entry provides the name of the author, a brief summary, and the disposition of the bill at the end of the session. Search index for bill numbers.

Deering's California Code
Available through the Library via Lexis-Nexis Academic database
West's Annotated California Codes
Available through the Library via Westlaw database 

California Code of Regulations (CCR)
Compilation of the full text of existing state regulations. 

John F. Kennedy Memorial Library
California State University, Los Angeles
5151 State University Drive
Los Angeles, CA 90032-8300
323-343-3988