LibGuides: HIST 3570: Gender and Sex in History: Fashion & Clothing

Databases

Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new window
High-quality images of historical clothing, non-scholarly articles, eBooks, and encyclopedia articles.
Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
The Vogue Archive contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (U.S. edition) from 1892 to the present day, reproduced in high-resolution color page images.
More than 400,000 pages are included, constituting a treasure trove of the work from the greatest designers, photographers, stylists, and illustrators of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. Vogue is a unique record of American and international popular culture that extends beyond fashion. The Vogue Archive is an essential primary source for the study of fashion, gender, and modern socialhistory – past, present, and future.

The database will allow fashion design and photography students to find inspirational images, but will also cater for academic study. Fashion marketing students will be able to research the history of a brand identity by viewing every advertisement for a brand such as Revlon, Coty, Versace, or Chanel between specified dates. Researchers in cultural studies and gender studies will be able to explore themes such as body image, gender roles, and social tastes from the 1890s to the present.

ProQuest's unique partnership with Condé Nast means that the latest issue will be added each month with no embargo period. Users can conduct powerful searches to reveal results in all text, captions, and titles throughout the magazine, including advertisements, covers and fold-outs.

Guide

The Vogue Archive Libuide from ProQuest
Women's Magazine Archive (1846-2005) This link opens in a new window
Full-text and high-resolution digital archive of "women's-interest" magazines covering topics such as family life, home economics, health, careers, fashion, culture, and much more.
Harper's Bazaar Archive This link opens in a new window
An archive of the magazine, including the complete runs of the U.S. and U.K. editions of Harper’s Bazaar, from 1867 to the present (U.S. edition) and 1929-2015 (U.K. edition). Coverage of international fashion, society, and popular culture.

Books

Most books on the history of clothing and fashion are located on the third floor of library South call numbers TT490-TT695. However, books on how clothing and fashion have impacted women's history and lives may be found elsewhere.

Below are a selection of the books and eBooks available through the library.

A Cultural History of Fashion in the 20th and 21st Centuries by Bonnie English
Call Number: Level 3 South ; TT507 .E64 2013
ISBN: 9780857851352
Publication Date: 2013-05-23
Accessibly written and well illustrated, the book outlines the social and cultural history of fashion thematically, and contains a wide range of global case studies on key designers, styles, movements and events.
An Intimate Affair by Jill Fields
Call Number: Level 2 North ; GT2073 .F54 2007
ISBN: 9780520223691
Publication Date: 2007-07-02
Intimate apparel, a term in use by 1921, has played a crucial role in the development of the "naughty but nice" feminine ideal that emerged in the twentieth century. Jill Fields's engaging, imaginative, and sophisticated history of twentieth-century lingerie tours the world of women's intimate apparel and arrives at nothing less than a sweeping view of twentieth-century women's history via the undergarments they wore.
Reforming Women's Fashion, 1850-1920 by Patricia A. Cunningham
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781631010989
Publication Date: 2015-01-13
The first comprehensive study of women's dress reform During the latter half of the nineteenth and the first decade of the twentieth centuries, books, periodicals, and newspapers were rich in discussions related to women's roles, health, beauty, and dress. Many believed that restrictive and unwieldy women's fashions compromised health, distorted women's true physical beauty, and curtailed the potential role of women in society. Reforming Women's Fashion, 1850-1920 focuses on the efforts toward reforming women's dress that took place in Europe and America during this period and the types of garments adopted by women to overcome the challenges posed by fashionable dress.
Making War, Making Women by Melissa A. McEuen
Call Number: Level 2 North ; HQ1420 .M383 2011
ISBN: 9780820329048
Publication Date: 2011-02-15
Drawing on war propaganda, popular advertising, voluminous government records, and hundreds of letters and other accounts written by women in the 1940s, Melissa A. McEuen examines how extensively women's bodies and minds became "battlegrounds" in the U.S. fight for victory in World War II. Women were led to believe that the nation's success depended on their efforts--not just on factory floors, but at their dressing tables, bathroom sinks, and laundry rooms. They were to fill their arsenals with lipstick, nail polish, creams, and cleansers in their battles to meet the standards of ideal womanhood touted in magazines, newspapers, billboards, posters, pamphlets and in the rapidly expanding pinup genre.

Museum Collections Online

MET Costume Institute
Browse thousands of high-quality images of historical clothing, timelines of dress, and essays.
V&A Fashion Collection
Spanning five centuries, our Fashion collection is the largest and most comprehensive collection of dress in the world. Key items in the collection include rare 17th century gowns, 18th century ‘mantua’ dresses, 1930s eveningwear, 1960s daywear and post-war couture.
Kyoto Costume Institute
Japanese and western costume from the 1700s to today.
Fashion Institute of Technology Collections

University Library

HIST 3570: Gender and Sex in History

Databases

Books

Museum Collections Online