LibGuides: HIST 3570: Gender and Sex in History: Marriage

Interracial Marriage

Consider what kinds of evidence might exist around the existence of, and laws regulating interracial marriage and relationships:

Laws
Court Cases
News articles about court cases
News about lynching or violence against couples or individuals
Oral histories or interviews with couples or individuals
Documentaries
Family photos
Census information

*Note, while the terms are now considered offensive, you may also need to use historical terms such as "miscegenation," "anti-miscegenation," "anti-race mixing" or "anti-integration" when looking for primary sources on this topic.

Primary Sources

African American Studies, by Archives Unbound This link opens in a new window
Historical documents and other primary sources focusing on the history, culture, and politics of African Americans, from 1900 to the present day. Covers events ranging from U.S. nation-building in Liberia to Freedom Riders, the Rastafari movement, and FBI surveillance.
Black Life in America This link opens in a new window
Historical American and global news sources that record the experience and impact of African Americans from 1704-1975.
Lesson Plans: Easy-to-use assignments
NAACP Papers: The NAACP's Major Campaigns 2 This link opens in a new window
Historical documents and other primary sources related to the NAACP's campaigns regarding anti-lynching, debt slavery/indentured servitude, and discrimination in employment and the criminal justice system.

Civil Rights Digital Library
materials from libraries, archives, museums, public broadcasters, and others on a national scale. The CRDL features a collection of unedited news film from the WSB (Atlanta) and WALB (Albany, Ga.) television archives held by the Walter J. Brown Media Archives and Peabody Awards Collection at the University of Georgia Libraries.

Law & Court Cases

The Jim Crow Museum: Laws that Banned Mixed Marriages

Congressional Publications This link opens in a new window
Historical and current Congressional information and publications on all aspects of legislation from 1789 to the present. Provides full-text documents and reports, hearings, legislative histories, congressional working papers and bills, the Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, and the U.S. Code. It also includes member biographical and committee assignment information, voting records, and financial data.
Provides full-text for Congressional Committee Prints, House and Senate Documents and Reports (Congressional Serial Set), Hearings, and Legislative Histories. It also covers full text of congressional working papers and bills, as well as the Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, and the U.S. Code. It provides access to a wide variety of additional information, including member biographical and committee assignment information, voting records, and financial data.
WestlawNext Campus Research This link opens in a new window
Legal materials including cases, statutes, and regulations of the U.S. government and state governments as well as full text legal law reviews and journals, newspapers, encyclopedias, briefs, case summaries, treatises, and more.
It includes the legal encyclopedia American Jurisprudence 2nd and American Law Reports, as well as Black's Law Dictionary and Campus Research Legal Guides.

Primary legal information--Cases from courts in all 50 states and the District of Columbia and from the federal courts since 1789; reported and unpublished decisions; statutes and regulations from all 50 states and federal statues published in the United States Code Annotated (USCA); Federal regulations published in the Federal Register and the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR)
Secondary sources--American Jurisprudence 2d, a comprehensive encyclopedia of state and federal law; American Law Reports (ALR) articles that summarize and analyze court decisions on a particular legal issue; hundreds of journals and law reviews from leading law schools
The database also covers news and business informaiton

GUIDES:

Loving Day Court History
Information on key court cases that lead to the anti-miscegenation laws being declared unconstitutional.

Marriage & Courtship in the U.S.

From Front Porch to Back Seat by Beth L. Bailey
Call Number: Level 2 North ; GT2650 .B35 1988
ISBN: 9780801836091
Publication Date: 1988-06-08
From gentleman callers to big men on campus, from Coke dates to "parking," From Front Porch to Back Seat is the vivid history of dating in America. In chronicling a dramatic shift in patterns of courtship between the 1920s and the 1960s, Beth Bailey offers a provocative view of how we sought out mates-and of what accounted for our behavior.
Man and Wife in America by Hendrik Hartog
Call Number: Level 3 North ; KF510 .H37 2000
ISBN: 9780674002623
Publication Date: 2000-05-19
Exploring a century and a half of marriage through stories of struggle and conflict mined from case records, Hartog shatters the myth of a golden age of stable marriage. He describes the myriad ways the law shaped and defined marital relations and spousal identities, and how individuals manipulated and reshaped the rules of the American states to fit their needs.

University Library

HIST 3570: Gender and Sex in History

Interracial Marriage

Primary Sources

Law & Court Cases

Marriage & Courtship in the U.S.