Collections, Discovery, and Content Management (CDCM) Unit of the Library encompasses a range of services and functions that support the acquisitions, organization, management, and access to scholarly and informational resources. These services are crucial in ensuring the efficient and effective operation of the library and facilitating access to scholarly/informational materials for learning, teaching, research, creative activities, and career advancement. Below is a brief description of what we do:
Acquisitions: One of the primary functions of the CDCM is to acquire library materials. Collaborating with library liaison librarians and campus faculty, this involves identifying, selecting, and purchasing or licensing books, journals, databases, audiovisual materials, and other resources that align with the mission of the campus community.
Cataloging and Metadata: Once materials are acquired, CDCM personnel organize and describe acquired materials in Alma, which may include creating descriptive metadata, and ensuring consistency in classification and cataloging standards such as Library of Congress Classification or Dewey Decimal Classification. CDCM personnel also involve in ensuring the accuracy and consistency of data by performing authority control. This process enables users to locate and access resources through search interfaces, enhancing discoverability and retrieval.
Physical Processing: CDCM also handles the physical processing of library materials. This may involve applying barcodes, call number labels, labels for different types of books, magazines, and media items, as well as preparing them for circulation. Additionally, staff and student assistants may repair damaged items.
Electronic and Digital Resource Development and Management: With the increasing prevalence of electronic resources, CDCM plays a vital role in negotiating, licensing, managing electronic and digital content. This includes identifying new electronic content, negotiating for pricing, licensing, setting up demos and trials, adding resources to Alma and Databases A-Z list, maintaining electronic resource management systems, ensuring access to online databases and e-journals, troubleshooting access issues, and coordinating with vendors and publishers for license renewals and troubleshooting technical problems.
Collection Management: In collaborating with OUX personnel and liaison librarians and faculty to assess and develop the library's collection. They analyze usage data, track trends in scholarly publishing, and make informed decisions regarding resource selection, deselection, and retention.
Interdepartmental Collaboration: CDCM staff work closely with other library units, including instruction and research consultation, OUX including collection maintenance, reserves and interlibrary loan, and the Library Administrative Office (LAO) to ensure smooth operation and a seamless user experience.
Individuals Closely Working with CDCM:
|
In order to facilitate more effective and transparent communication with the Collections, Discovery, and Content Management (CDCM) unit we have established two new unit email accounts that we are encouraging library personnel to use in lieu of emailing individuals. This will also ensure that questions and problems are addressed in a timely fashion when individual CDCM personnel are out of the office.
|
|
FORMS |
USE |
| Analytics Report Request | Use this form to send your request for print and/or e-resource related analytics reports. |
|
Use this form to send your requested purchase items with cost over $350. |
|
| Course Reserves Submission Form |
Use this form to alert course reserves staff that items need to be placed on reserve. It can also be used to alert acquisitions when new items need to be purchased for course reserves. Note: this form will be replaced in Summer '23 with two separate forms. |
|
Electronic Resource Quote, Demo, Trial, Training, and Subscription Request |
Use this form to send your inquires for electronic resource quote, demos, trials, training, and subscriptions. |
| Featured Collections for OneSearch | Use this form to begin the process of establishing a OneSearch Featured Collection! |
| Report an Electronic Resource Problem | This form is embedded in the Databases A-Z list for database problem reporting. In lieu of using this form, you are welcome to use the libsupport@calstatela.edu email to report problems. |