Find Articles - ENGL 3000 - English Tutorial: Reading and Writing in the Major

Key Databases for English

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed articles in literature, language, folklore, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), linguistics, the history of publishing, and teaching in all these areas.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed articles across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select ebooks and other materials.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed articles and eBooks in the humanities and social sciences.

Broad Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A great starting place for any research topic. Includes a wealth of peer-reviewed and non-scholarly articles on a wide range of topics and disciplinary areas.
Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed articles on art, film, music, world literature, philosophy, religion, and more.
Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Gale Literature including Resource Center, Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Literature Criticism and LitFinder. The database brings together these literary databases allowing searching across these resources.
- Contemporary Authors Online
- Dictionary of Literary Biography
- Literature Criticism Online

Pedagogy & Teaching

Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed and non-scholarly articles in the fields of education administration, teaching methods, literacy, funding, and more.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed and non-scholarly articles about teaching and education. Topics covered include assessment, curriculum development, elementary education, higher education, instructional media, literacy standards, pedagogical research, school administration, and more.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
The Educational Resource Information Center includes peer-reviewed articles, reports, conference papers, curriculum and teaching guides, and non-scholarly articles focused on education, including early childhood to higher education, and throughout the lifespan. Includes research on cognitive psychology.
ERIC is also available via Proquest, OCLC FirstSearch, and at ERIC website with access to full text documents from 1993-present. ERIC consists of two files:
- CIJE - Current Index to Journals in Education which indexes over 750 professional journals - all are assigned ERIC numbers beginning with an EJ (Eric journal).
- RIE - Resources in Education which indexes a variety of documents; all are assigned ERIC numbers beginning with an ED (Eric document). OCLC provides access to online full-text ED records via subscription links to EDRS Not all ED documents are available online. Inclusion depends on the authors original copyright agreement with EDRS. Typically 80% of ED documents permit online full-text usage. HINT: on OCLC look for the EDRS link at the bottom of the detailed record.
A variety of help options are available:
Educator's Reference Complete This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed articles, non-scholarly articles, and reports. Covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college, including topics of administration, funding, and policy.
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed articles in linguistics and its various sub-disciplines. It also includes summaries of monographs, recent books, technical reports, and more.

Curriculum, Instruction, Applied and Advanced Studies in Education
by Kimberly Franklin Last Updated Oct 22, 2024 658 views this year

Shakespeare

World Shakespeare Bibliography Online This link opens in a new window
Annotated entries covering books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare and published or produced since 1960. No full text.

JSTOR Understanding Shakespeare This great resource links to articles written about a line in Shakespeare's play.

More Databases

A-Z Database List
A comprehensive, A-Z list of the hundreds of databases available through the library.

Gender Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed and non-scholarly articles such as magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
Women's Studies Archive: Women's Issue and Identities This link opens in a new window
Primary source materials on women's issues, movements, and achievements, including topics such as sexuality and reproductive freedom, women and the labor movement, and second wave feminist movements, Includes manuscripts, ephemera, newspapers, journals, and more.
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
The core psychology database, with peer-reviewed and non-scholarly articles on all aspects of human psychology.
SocIndex with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed articles on all aspects of sociology, including gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, religion, racial studies and social work. Includes citations to books, conference papers, and other types of sources.
HAPI This link opens in a new window
The Hispanic American Periodicals Index provides citations to peer-reviewed articles on Latin America, the Caribbean, and Latinx communities in the U.S. since the late 1960s. Includes content from political, economic, and social issues to the arts and humanities. About 80% of indexed titles include links to full text sources.
Handbook of Latin American Studies This link opens in a new window
A selective annotated bibliography of scholarly works on Latin America. Works reviewed include books, journal articles, book chapters, and conference papers. No full text.

Chaucer Bibliography Online Free website that indexes chaucer scholarship.

Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed and non-scholarly articles in criminal justice, forensic science, law enforcement, corrections, and more.
The subjects covered represent the entire range of criminal justice topics including: criminal law and behavioral sciences, criminal procedure, corrections, search and seizure, evidence, family law, forensic sciences, policing practices and procedures, quantitative issues and research methods, social science issues and law enforcement, trends and innovations in law enforcement, victims' rights, etc. Coverage: Varies; most titles from 1986 - the present. A variety of help options are available:

Find Articles in OneSearch

Search for articles in OneSearch if you:

1) Have an interdisciplinary, experimental, or very specific topic and are having trouble finding articles in a database.

2) Have a topic in mind and are not sure which database would be best.

3) Know the title of the exact article you are looking for and need to find it.

Note: OneSearch does not search all databases, so you may miss some articles.

OneSearch: Basic Search How to do a basic search for an article in OneSearch.
OneSearch: Advanced Search How to do an advanced search to find articles.

GoogleScholar

GoogleScholar searches the entire web for scholarly materials.

Downside of using Google Scholar:

There is no way to search for only peer-reviewed articles in academic journals.
It lists unpublished works, such as dissertations or theses, without a way to filter them out.
You will get millions of results organized by popularity (highest cited).

Upsides of using Google Scholar:

You can easily search for an article by title.
You can press the "cited by" button to find similar articles and to see who else has cited the article.
Google Scholar can recognize you as a Cal State LA student so you have better access to articles (see below)

How to get Google Scholar to recognize you are a Cal State LA Student:

If Google Scholar knows you are a Cal State LA student, you will see "Find it @ Cal State LA" links, pictured below.

If you are on-campus, access Google Scholar from the library home page to ensure you are connected to Cal State LA's articles.

If you are off-campus, access Google Scholar from the library home page. If you do not go through the library homepage, make sure you add Cal State LA to your institutions:

Is this Journal Peer-Reviewed?

Peer-review means the journal publishes articles that have been reviewed by 3-5 experts over the course of 3-9 months.

Click the journal title in a database and look for information about peer review.
If you cannot find information about the journal through the database, try looking up the journal through the resources below.
Google search the journal and look at the Editorial guidelines, which should always specify the peer review process.

Ulrich's Web This link opens in a new window
A directory that provides detailed information on a wide range of publications, including academic journals, open-access publications, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more from around the world. It covers all subjects and is a good tool for determining the type of content, such as if it's peer-reviewed.
MLA Directory of Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Information on peer-reviewed journals and book series that cover literature, literary theory, dramatic arts, folklore, language, linguistics, pedagogy, rhetoric and composition, and the history of printing and publishing. No Full Text.

Journal Search
Search the Cal State LA Library for a Journal by name.