Developed cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides across a variety of subject areas including literature and literary theory.
Credo Reference is an ideal starting point for beginning researchers. The collection contains over 700 online reference titles from 100+ and offers curated, authoritative reference sources that provide a firm foundation for understanding a topic. Users can start with Credo, gather background information, find key terms and concepts, and then seamlessly travel to the library’s journal databases for more specialized information and peer-reviewed articles.
Provides access to Gale Literature including Resource Center, Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Literature Criticism and LitFinder. The database brings together these literary databases allowing searching across these resources.
Provides complete biographical and bibliographical information and references on all of the more than 120,000 U.S. and international authors whose entries appear in Contemporary Authors Online and Contemporary Authors Online New Revision Series. Updated monthly, Contemporary Authors Online allows users to search for an author by name, title of work, nationality, date and place of birth and death, subject/genre, personal and career information, awards and honors, and more.
provides comprehensive access to the series dedicated to making literature and its creators better understood and more accessible to students and interested readers while simultaneously satisfying the standards of librarians, teachers, and scholars. The series provides reliable information on authors and their works in an easy to understand, engaging format, while placing writers in the larger perspective of literary history. Dictionary of Literary Complete Online includes the main series, documentary, and yearbook volumes.
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.
It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books. The OED covers words from across the English-speaking world, from North America to South Africa, from Australia and New Zealand to the Caribbean. Updated quarterly with at least 1000 new and revised entries.
Archetypes and Motifs in Folklore and Literature: a Handbook
