ENGL 3825: Psychology in Literature

Databases are extremely useful tools for finding peer-reviewed journal articles, as well as scholarly essays and chapters in eBooks.

Not sure which database to use? 

• Try a key database (below)
• Search in OneSearch, and pay attention to which databases it links you to. If one database keeps showing up for your searches (e.g., JSTOR), try searching it directly.
• Read the database titles and descriptions. Most are specific to material type (e.g., articles, chapters), disciplines (e.g., Literature) or broad areas (e.g., Humanities).
• Ask your Librarian (email is best) or Professor!

Recommended Databases for ENGL 3825

Search for articles in OneSearch if you: 

1) Have an interdisciplinary, experimental, or very specific topic and are having trouble finding articles in a database. 

2) Have a topic in mind and are not sure which database would be best.

3) Know the title of the exact article you are looking for and need to find it. 

Note: OneSearch does not search all databases, so you may miss some articles.

GoogleScholar searches the entire web for scholarly materials.

Downside of using Google Scholar: 

• There is no way to search for only peer-reviewed articles in academic journals.
• It lists unpublished works, such as dissertations or theses, without a way to filter them out.
• You will get millions of results organized by popularity (highest cited). 

Upsides of using Google Scholar:

• You can easily search for an article by title.
• You can press the "cited by" button to find similar articles and to see who else has cited the article.
• Google Scholar can recognize you as a Cal State LA student so you have better access to articles (see below)

How to get Google Scholar to recognize you are a Cal State LA Student:

If Google Scholar knows you are a Cal State LA student, you will see "Find it @ Cal State LA" links, pictured below.

If you are on-campus, access Google Scholar from the library home page to ensure you are connected to Cal State LA's articles.

If you are off-campus, access Google Scholar from the library home page. If you do not go through the library homepage, make sure you add Cal State LA to your institutions:

Peer-review means the journal publishes articles that have been reviewed by 3-5 experts over the course of 3-9 months.

• Click the journal title in a database and look for information about peer review.
• If you cannot find information about the journal through the database, try looking up the journal through the resources below.
• Google search the journal and look at the Editorial guidelines, which should always specify the peer review process.