Chicana(o) & Latina(o) Studies: Chicano Movement & Cal State LA Primary Sources

The materials in this collection were created from 1940-1972. The bulk of the collection is scripts and outlines collected by Anthony Quinn, a notable Mexican-American actor, director, writer, and visual artist. Included in the collection are materials and documents related to Quinn’s interest and involvement in civil rights movements from 1968-1972, particularly those involving Mexican-Americans. The materials in this collection also include correspondence and research materials related to film projects, Quinn’s appearances, and civil rights.

The materials in this collection were created from 1968-1978. The entire collection consists of posters. The posters announce events presented by the Chicano Studies Department at California State University, Los Angeles. The events include Feria De La Raza, United Mexican-American Students Present Community Day on Campus and a series of posters announcing the message, “Conoce Tu Herencia Cultural.”

The materials in this collection were created from 1879-2006. The bulk of the collection is photographs collected by the California State University, Los Angeles Office of Communications and Public Affairs. The photographs portray important events in Cal State LA’s history as well as general university life. When requesting materials from this collection please note series and folder titles along with numbers.

The collection includes yearbooks from 1948 to present. The yearbook was not published between 1968-1975 as a result of anti-establishment philosophy held by many students.

The materials in this collection were created from 1948-2014. The bulk of the collection includes subject/topical files and legal documents most of which were maintained with the original title given by Carlos Montes upon donation. The subject/topical files contain information on various groups and activities which, Montes played an active role in such as PODER (Proactive Organization Dedicated to Empowerment of Raza) and the 1968 Blowouts. The legal documents pertain to the State of California vs Carlos Montes, Biltmore Case and the East LA 13 court case. Smaller series include publications, newsletters, newspaper clippings, newspapers, political announcements & flyers, correspondence, posters, scrapbook, and ephemera.

The University Times is the student-run newspaper of California State University, Los Angeles. This link will take you to the digital repository D-Space. Use keywords to search issues of the University Times available for download or browse for keywords by clicking VIEW MORE under the Subject heading in the right-hand column.

David Sandoval is the former Director of the Cal State L.A. Educational Opportunity Program (EOP) from 1981-2008. An EOP graduate, Sandoval entered the program in 1969 as a special admit student. During the 1960's, he was a student and community activist (UMAS, MECHA, Brown Berets); combining his media talents with his concern for the community by writing and producing short video and film documentaries. The writings and publications in this collection contain presentations from David Sandoval, magazines, journals, newspapers dealing with civil rights issues and the struggles of low-income and educationally disadvantaged students.

The East Los Angeles Community Union (TELACU) is dedicated to the development of Los Angeles County. Founded in 1968, TELACU is a non-profit community development corporation with a mission to create greater opportunities, services, and affordable housing in undeserved communities. TELACU also provides scholarships for Latino students through the Latino Education Foundation. This collection contains programs and reports, correspondence, and publications related to The East Los Angeles Community Union (TELACU).

Gloria Arellanes (1946- ) was born in East Los Angeles and raised in El Monte, California. In the late 1960s she became Minister of Finance and Correspondence of the Chicano Brown Beret organization’s founding East Los Angeles Chapter. She also served as administrator of El Barrio Free Clinic and was a member of the National Chicano Moratorium Committee (1969-1970). After leaving the Brown Beret organization in early 1970, she organized the women’s group, Las Adelitas de Aztlan. She also coordinated la Clinica del Barrio and continued as a health care worker through the late 1970s. The bulk of the collection includes political flyers and broadsides, newspapers, books, buttons, posters and photographs dating from 1967 to the late 1970s. Documents also include materials related to her role as Minister of Finance and Correspondence and Free Clinic Coordinator, as well as to the founding of Las Adelitas de Aztlan and her involvement in the coordination of La Clinica Familiar del Barrio.

The materials in this collection were created from 1970-2010. The bulk of the collection includes posters and publications. The posters pertain to Chicano Theatre and rallies through the 70s and 80s. The theater productions were produced by El Teatro Campesino, Teatro de la Gente, and Teatro Urbano. The collection also contains publications of theatre programs, magazines and newspapers. Some of the magazines and newspapers include El Foro del Pueblo, Huelga, and La Raza. In addition, the collection contains photographs of the guerrilla military and political organization in El Salvador, Fuerzas Populares de Liberacion (FPL).