LibGuides: MGMT 3080: Business Responsibilities in Society: Home

Welcome!

This research guide is intended for students enrolled in MGMT 3080 working with librarian Summer Peng. Explore the links on the left to find recommended research databases. You can also contact Summer directly in the contact box on the bottom left.

Commonly Used Resources

Company Information

MarketLine This link opens in a new window
Quality business reports encompassing company profiles, market reports, industry outlooks, and economic and demographic conditions globally, covering all continents and major industries.
MarketLine provides statistical modelling functions, interactive reports and databases along with an integrated news service updated on a daily basis. It is a dynamic access point to the world of market intelligence. It can be used in management and marketing courses, especially those with an innovation, entrepreneurship or global focus. In terms of student use: it would provide critical information for drafting assignments related to market plans or new business plans. This database could also be useful for finance classes that deal with investing, especially investing in global markets or emerging economies and industries. The country information could additionally be useful in economics classes.
MarketLine Tutorial
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Information for 25,000 U.S. public companies (active and inactive) listed on the NYSE, AMEX, and NASDAQ exchanges and 20,000 non-U.S. companies .
Each company report incorporates up-to-the-minute news items. The Archives Data holds the full business descriptions, histories and financial statements for companies that were acquired, went bankrupt, liquidated or merged out of existence from 1996 onward for U.S. companies and 1995 forward for non-U.S. companies. The database also includes a annual report collection for more than 40, 000 U.S. companies.
Company coverage in the Mergent Online includes: history, mergers, acquisitions, disposals, joint ventures, business, property, subsidiaries, officers and directors, news reports, long-term debt, bond ratings, capital stock, exchange and ticker symbol, annual stock price ranges, registrar, transfer agent, stock splits, dividend payment history, income statement, cash flow statement, balance sheet, contact information, auditors, and qualified auditors report.

NOTE: Mergent Online is currently not compatible with Netscape 4.7 or older browsers. If you are currently using Netscape 4.7 or older or you are an Apple Mac or Macintosh user, please contact Mergent technical support staff at 1-800-955-8080 or 212-413-7744 or mail them at mailto:technicalsupport@mergent.com.

Industry Information

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Offers U.S. industry research and analysis for 700 market segments, aiding in market understanding, competitor analysis, business planning, benchmarking, forecasting, valuations, litigation support, and due diligence. It includes industry statistics, trends, procurement analysis, price trends, supply chain risks, and supplier benchmarks, with reports typically 25–30 pages long and regularly updated.

Consumer Information

Mintel This link opens in a new window
Market research including an analysis of consumers, markets, new products, and competitive insights on global and local economies.
Statista Pro This link opens in a new window
Statistics and data platform that focuses on the economic, business, and marketing fields. The sources for the statistics come from a wide range of fields, including energy and the environment, advertising, health, hospitality, consumer goods, and many more.