LibGuides: Geography : Home

Library Resources

Welcome to the Geography Research Guide

In this guide you will find links to scholarly resources, data, selected websites, and information on how to use, understand, and cite those sources.

What is Geography?

Geography is the study of the earth’s surface, including its physical, biological, and social systems. It is concerned with how people shape and in turn are shaped by the natural and ecological systems around them, how societies create landscapes and places, and the spatial distributions of many kinds of phenomena. The discipline seeks to describe and explain why different phenomena are located where they are and how their spatial patterns change over time. - from Oxford Bibliographies Online

Geography Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A great starting place for any research topic. Includes a wealth of peer-reviewed and non-scholarly articles on a wide range of topics and disciplinary areas.
PAIS International This link opens in a new window
Public Affairs Information Service includes peer-reviewed articles, books, government documents, reports, conference papers, web content, and more with a focus on public administration, including social conditions and public policy.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed articles across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select ebooks and other materials.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed, government and general-interest non-scholarly articles with content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Sage Premier Collection This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed articles in the social sciences, humanities, medicine, engineering, and physical and life sciences.
JSTOR Sustainability Collection This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed articles focused on sustainability. The subjects covered include agricultural economics, climatology and atmospheric science, energy policy, environmental engineering, green energy, human ecology, land conservation, natural resources law, public health, sustainable business practices, transportation and infrastructure, urban studies and planning, and water management.
Access to 5,000 research reports from a minimum of 40 think tanks around the world (2,000 available now, more coming later in 2017-2018). The often hard-to-find research reports will include policy briefs, technical papers, white papers, and discussion papers from government agencies, non-governmental organizations, corporations, policy institutions, and academic centers.
10 open access journals (two available in early 2017, more coming soon)
More than 350 scholarly ebooks spanning the wide ranges of disciplines in the collection.

Guides

Sustainability Resources on JSTOR
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed articles in sociology, psychology, anthropology, geography, economics, political science, and law.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed articles, reviews, books, and conference proceedings in various disciplines of science, including physical and life sciences.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed articles and ebooks in a wide range of the sciences and social sciences.
Environmental Studies in Context This link opens in a new window
Overviews of environmental topics such as climate change, food security, soil ecology, and tourism. Includes peer-reviewed and non-scholarly articles, case studies, statistics, images, reference content, and more.