Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
university logo

University Library

Nutritional Science

Getting Started

When researching nutritional studies, there are a variety of sources available to you.  The first step is selecting a topic and figuring out what types of sources of information you will need to use for your research.

If you need scholarly and peer-reviewed articles, you will want to start with a database. If you need background information, a good starting point would be a subject encyclopedia. 

If you need help figuring out where to begin, you may always contact me at adobry@calstatela.edu or schedule an appointment at the bottom of this page.

 

Off-Campus Access

After Hours Research Help

Writing Help

APA Style Central

Electronic Reference Sources

Online encyclopedias are a good starting point for research.

Print Reference Sources

 

There are many print reference sources that are also good starting points for research. The following are shelved in the reference collection on the 3rd floor of Library South (Palmer Wing).

Foods & nutrition encyclopedia: (Volumes 1 & 2)  TX349 .F575 1994

Food for health: a nutrition encyclopedia:  TX349 .E475 2002

Encyclopedia of food sciences and nutrition: (Volumes 1-10)  TX349 .E63 2003

Encyclopedia of human nutrition: (Volumes 1-4)  QP141 .E526 2005

Encyclopedia of obesity:  (Volumes 1 & 2)  RC628 .E53 2008

 

John F. Kennedy Memorial Library
California State University, Los Angeles
5151 State University Drive
Los Angeles, CA 90032-8300
323-343-3988