Academic Search CompleteThis link opens in a new windowProvides over 20,000 indexed and abstracted journals including 6,600 full-text journals and magazines, nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. PDF content dating back to 1887.
Provides access to news content including full-text newspapers and periodicals like The Economist, The New York Times, National Geographic, Newsweek, Popular Science, Smithsonian, and more.
Additional content: hundreds of thousands of images, videos, and audio selections that include archival film clips, broadcast video, BBC News, New York Times video, and NPR.
ArtStor Digital LibraryThis link opens in a new windowProvides over 1.6 million digital images with new image collections added several times a year. It covers many time periods and subjects including architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, ethnographic and women's studies, as well as many other forms of visual culture.
The database can be searched by Keyword, Creator, Title, Location, Repository, Subject, Material, Style or Period, Work Type, Culture, Description, Technique, and Number.
Key English Databases
Project MuseThis link opens in a new windowProvide access to full-text scholarly journals in the Humanities and Social Sciences with over 120 publishers currently participating.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowOffers interdisciplinary content including approximately 2,600 academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials.
On occasions, you may encounter problems opening PDFs. The reason for this to happen is most likely due to the time out error. This could be due to a slow internet connection or a large download size. Many times, articles with images contained in them will time out the download.
To resolve this, right click on the link "Proceed to PDF" and select "Save Target As..." (or "Save Link as..." for Firefox). This will allow you to save the PDF to your computer and should allow for a faster, more successful download.
If the problem persists, check the PDF Help Page at JSTOR
MLA International BibliographyThis link opens in a new windowIndexes articles in literature, language, folklore, and linguistics - over 4,000 U.S. and international journals.
Coverage: 1880s to present
The MLA Bibliography contains detailed bibliographic information on scholarly publications from around the world and across a broad range of topics, including
Literature from any country and in any language
Literary theory and criticism
Dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater)
College-level teaching of language, literature, and rhetoric and composition