LibGuides: Kinesiology: Getting Started

Getting Started

When doing research in kinesiology there are a variety of sources available to you. The first step is selecting a topic and figuring out what types of sources of information you will need to use for your research.

If you need scholarly and/or peer reviewed articles, you will want to start with a database. If you need background information, a good starting point would be a subject encyclopedia.

If you need help figuring out where to begin you may always contact me.

Off-Campus Access

VPN Virtual Private Networking
Sometimes the Proxy Server may have issues. If you have problems accessing resources off-campus with the Proxy Server, you may want to install the VPN to access the Library's resources from off-campus. The VPN connection is usually faster than the Proxy Server.

Writing Help

Center for Academic Success - Writing Wing
Graduate Resource Center
The GRC provides thesis/dissertation support and general writing support. Scroll down to the bottom of the webpage for more information.

APA Style Central

APA Style Central
APA Style CENTRAL provides instruction on and tools for how to think and write like scholars. It provides the resources necessary to learn, research, write, and publish in APA Style.

Electronic Reference Sources

Online encyclopedias are a good starting point for research.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Offers an online collection of reference eBooks including encyclopedias, such as the Encyclopedia of Lifestyle, Medicine, and Health and the Encyclopedia of Public Health and other reference sources for multidisciplinary research. You can search a single eBook or across an entire eBook collection. When starting your search type in terms such as sports science or kinesiology.

Anatomy TV

Anatomy TV (Primal Pictures)
The 3D Anatomy from Primal Pictures includes the following four modules: 3D Atlas (detailed regional overview of the human body from head to toe, including 3D views, clinical text, dissection slides and videos, animations, MRI correlations and quizzes); Functional Anatomy (sports injuries, exercises and training); Clinical Specialty (speech language pathology and audiology); and Therapy (acupuncture and hand therapy).

Print Reference Sources

There are many print reference sources that are also good starting points for research.

Adapted physical education and sport: Level 2 Library North GV445 .A3 2011

Dance anatomy and kinesiology: Level 3 Library South RC1220.D35 C55 2007

Encyclopedia of extreme sports: Level 2 Library North GV749.7 .E53 2009

Useful e-Journals

Even though you can find journal articles in the Library's databases, below are some important journals for this area that are available electronically.

Journal of physiotherapy