LibGuides: Research Impact: Share Your Data

Share Your Data in a Repository

When you deposit your data in a repository, you make it easier for people to discover your research and preserve your efforts. Increasingly, funding agencies and the the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy committee are also requiring that data be made publicly available. Below, we've provided examples of some open data repositories. If you have questions about what data repository is best for you, contact your subject librarian.

Data Management Plans

A data management plan (DMP) outlines how you will collect, organize, back--up, and store your data as you conduct your research. You can find several examples of DMPs online. CSUN Library also has a Data Manage Plan outline which can be a good starting place. Always check that your grant funder does not have a preferred template for you to use.

Broadly, your DMP should do the following:

List all data types being collected and their size
Include how you will describe your data
Include how you will protect and store your data
Describe how you will save and provide access to your data
Include who is responsible for the different steps of your data management plan

A good resource to start with if you are new to DMP is this slide deck from Colorado State University Libraries on "How to plan for good data management."

Directories of Data Repositories

re3data
Registry of Research Data Repositories. Searchable interface but can also browse by subject, content type and country.
FAIRsharing.org
The collections link can be used to find both domain and generalist repositories as well as those recommended by specific journals, funders, and organizations.
Repository Finder
This resource can limit to the repositories in re3data that meet the criteria of the Enabling FAIR Data Project and FAIRsFAIR Project.
National Archive of Data of Arts & Culture (NADAC)
The NADAC repository accepts arts and culture research data with a specific focus on research funded by federal agencies.

ScholarWorks

ScholarWorks Submission Guide
Learn more about how to submit your data to ScholarWorks.

Scholarworks This link opens in a new window
Cal State LA Master's Theses from Fall Quarter 2011 to the present, with a small number of earlier manuscripts. Open-access theses are available to the public without a log-in; all other theses require MyCalStateLA login to view the full text. Theses and dissertations can also be searched on the ProQuest Dissertations & Theses @ Cal State LA interface.

General Data Repositories

Dryad Digital Repository
An open-access repository geared towards scientific and medical publications and data.

Fees: $120 USD for first 20GN, and $50 USD for each additional GB unless covered by publisher or funder

Size Limits: None

figshare

Fees: $100GB free when publishing Scientific Data manuscript

Size Limits: 1 TB per dataset

Harvard Dataverse

Fees: Contact repository for datasets over 1 TB

Size Limits: 2.5 GB per file, 10 GB per dataset

Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Science Research (ICSPR)

Fees: "There are multiple free options to deposit data at ICPSR, including (1) the General Archive where data are curated and available at no cost to those at member institutions, (2) openICPSR where self-published, uncurated data are available at no cost to all users, and (3) one of the sponsored topical archives provided the data meet any applicable selection criteria."

Size Limits: 30GB per file and 1,000 files per deposit

Mendeley Data
Mendeley Data is a free and secure cloud-based communal repository where you can store your data, ensuring it is easy to share, access and cite, wherever you are.

Fees: Free

Size Limits: 10 GB per dataset

Open Science Framework

Fees: Free

Size Limits: 5 GB per file, multiple files can be shared

Science Data Bank

Fees: Free

Size Limits: 8 GB per file

Zenodo
With an emphasis in science, Zenodo includes other areas. It also integrates with GitHub and provides altmetrics on items in its collection.

Fees: None, but donations are encouraged

Size Limits: 50 GB per dataset

Disciplinary Data Repositories

Child & Family Data Archive
CORE: Open Access for the Humanities
Previously called Humanities Commons.
Health and Medical Care Archive (ICPSR)
A data archive in ICPSR with focus on health science data.
Nature's List of Science Data Repositories
NIH List of Domain-Specific and Generalist Repositories for Sharing Scientific Data
To help researchers locate an appropriate repository for sharing or accessing data, BMIC maintains lists of data sharing repositories. Domain-specific repositories are typically limited to data of a certain type or related to a certain discipline.
NIH Selecting a Data Repository
This NIH webpage describes desirable characteristics of data repositories, provides tips for selecting a data repository, and considerations for human data.