LibGuides: LBS/ WGSS 3665- Gender and Sexuality in Science Fiction: Finding Primary Sources

Finding Primary Sources in One Search

Use One Search to find primary sources such as novels, short stories, tv shows, films, interviews, and images.

You may have to broaden your search to CSU collections if you are not coming up with many titles at our library. You can then request the title you need using CSU+.

Limit by resource type to DVD, Book, Image etc.

I.e. If you are looking for a copy of the novel The Handmaid's Tale, or a book about The Handmaid's Tale click on books under resource type. If you are looking for an episode of the tv show or a copy of the film, click on DVDs.

Finding Short Stories in One Search

When you are looking for science fiction short stories by female authors, try these keywords, limiting your search to books:

Finding Graphic Novels in our Library

To look for graphic novels in our collection, either search by title for a specific title or to browse to see what we have, limit your search using the advanced search to location contains graphic novels.

Finding Classic Science Fiction Books in Special Collections

Start with a basic search for science fiction and then...

Filter your search by location to special collections

Streaming Media Databases

Kanopy Videos This link opens in a new window
Beginning April 15, 2024, Android 7.1.1 will be the earliest supported Android OS for Kanopy mobile use. Users will be prompted to update if necessary starting on that date.
Streaming documentaries, independent feature films, foreign films, classic cinema, and select popular movies.
Information about Viewing Kanopy Videos on Mobile Devices
The Kanopy films can be viewed on iPhones, iPads, and Android phones and tablets using the Kanopy app. Download the app for iPhone or iPad from the Apple App Store, or download the app for Android phones and tablets from the Google Play Store.
To use the app, you'll need a Kanopy account associated with Cal State LA. If you have a non-Cal State LA Kanopy account, you must make a Cal State LA-specific account to access our resources through the app.
If you already created an account on the Kanopy web page via the Library Databases page, you can directly select Log In when you first open the app. If you don't have a Kanopy account yet, after downloading the app, select “Get Started,” select the Find University link as shown below, and then follow the steps to create your Kanopy account:

• Type in California State University, Los Angeles.
• Select our campus name, and click Next to get to the campus login page.
• Log in using MyCalStateLA ID and password. Please note when you type in your ID, please don’t include @calstatela.edu.
• To create your account, you need to use your Cal State LA email address, but you can use a different password for your Kanopy account.
• Once you have created your Kanopy account, you can then login to Kanopy app on your phone or tablet.
For help creating a Kanopy account on your iPhone or iPad, go to iPhone Help Page.
For help creating a Kanopy account on your Android phone or tablet, go to Android Help Page.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Streaming documentaries, educational TV shows, and academic films from producers such as PBS, HBO, and BBC Learning.

Finding Comics in the Internet Archive

Search the Internet Archive for Community Texts

https://archive.org/details/opensource

Limit your keyword search to metadata and media type-- texts:

Finding Images

Library Databases with Primary Sources

Use the A-Z databases list to find databases with primary sources by subject:

Google Books

Google Books

Google Books offers free full-text access to many out-of-copyright e-books. This includes archival and primary source materials. The easiest way to search for these titles is to use the advanced search page and select full view.

University Library

LBS/ WGSS 3665- Gender and Sexuality in Science Fiction