Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
university logo

University Library

Writing & Citing (APA, MLA etc.)

Self-help for creating citations and references for research papers.

About Citation Tools

Citation Tools (found in library catalogs, databases, google, etc.) can give you a head-start in creating citations for your Bibliography.  However, they may not always format the citation perfectly and you may need to adjust the spacing, etc.  It's always a good idea to consult a Style Manual as well to be sure everything is correct.

OneSearch

OneSearch (the library catalog/discovery tool) provides citation help for the library's collection of books, articles, media, etc.

1)  Enter your search terms in OneSearch (you can search by title, keywords, etc.)

2)  On the search results screen, click on the title of the item you'd like to use in your research assignment.

3)  At the top of the item detail screen, you'll see the citation symbol.  Click on it to see how to cite the item in APA, MLA, etc.
 

Screenshot of citation tool in OneSearch

Article Databases

Many of our library databases also have a citation tool available.

1)  Go to the Database Page and select a database to search.  (Tip: Selecting a "Subject" from the drop-down box will show you the recommended databases for your subject area)

2)  Once you've selected a database (for example, "Academic Search Complete") you can enter your search terms to get a list of available articles.

3)  On the item detail screen, click on the citation tool link to see how to cite that item in APA, MLA, etc.
 

Screenshot of citation tool in database search

Google Scholar

Google Scholar also has a citation tool.  (Tip:  We recommend you use the Google Scholar link located below the search box on the library homepage -- this version shows you if the item is available at Cal State LA)

1)  Search Google Scholar

2)  Click on the citation symbol (looks like quotation marks) to see how to cite that item in APA, MLA, etc.

Google Scholar Citation Tool

John F. Kennedy Memorial Library
California State University, Los Angeles
5151 State University Drive
Los Angeles, CA 90032-8300
323-343-3988