LibGuides: Animal Welfare and Alternative Models: Databases

Core Databases

Note that many of these sources only index journal articles—they don't actually have the full text.

To access full text:

Use the gold Find It button to find the full text
Search for the journal title in OneSearch, or
Request the article through InterLibrary Loan if CSULA does not own the full text

AGRICOLA
AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access) is a bibliographic database of citations to the agricultural literature created by the National Agricultural Library and its cooperators. The database covers materials in all formats, including printed works from the 15th century. The records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines.
ALTBIB
The National Library of Medicine's database on resources on alternatives to the use of live vertebrates in biomedical research and testing.
AWI Refinement Database
DATABASE ON REFINEMENT OF HOUSING, HUSBANDRY, CARE, AND USE OF ANIMALS IN RESEARCH
This database, created in 2000, is updated every four months with newly published scientific articles, books, and other publications related to improving or safeguarding the welfare of animals used in research.

Biological & Agricultural Index Plus This link opens in a new window
Selected full-text articles, citations, and links to PDF page images, graphs, charts, diagrams, photos, and illustrations in biological, agricultural, veterinary science, wildlife management, and environmental science areas.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
The Educational Resource Information Center includes peer-reviewed articles, reports, conference papers, curriculum and teaching guides, and non-scholarly articles focused on education, including early childhood to higher education, and throughout the lifespan. Includes research on cognitive psychology.
ERIC is also available via Proquest, OCLC FirstSearch, and at ERIC website with access to full text documents from 1993-present. ERIC consists of two files:
- CIJE - Current Index to Journals in Education which indexes over 750 professional journals - all are assigned ERIC numbers beginning with an EJ (Eric journal).
- RIE - Resources in Education which indexes a variety of documents; all are assigned ERIC numbers beginning with an ED (Eric document). OCLC provides access to online full-text ED records via subscription links to EDRS Not all ED documents are available online. Inclusion depends on the authors original copyright agreement with EDRS. Typically 80% of ED documents permit online full-text usage. HINT: on OCLC look for the EDRS link at the bottom of the detailed record.
A variety of help options are available:
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
The core psychology database, with peer-reviewed and non-scholarly articles on all aspects of human psychology.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts for peer-reviewed research in health sciences, mental health, public health, and a wide range of biomedical research areas. Can be used to find eBooks, clinical trials results, systematic reviews, meta-analysis, randomized controlled trials, and case studies.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed articles and ebooks in a wide range of the sciences and social sciences.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed articles, reviews, books, and conference proceedings in various disciplines of science, including physical and life sciences.