Library Databases for Anthropology 4800

Cal State LA Library Databases

https://libguides.calstatela.edu/az.php

Use one or more of the following databases or indexes to find journal articles, dissertations, etc. The full list of available databases/indexes can be found using the DATABASES link on the library homepage. You can find a list of databases related to Anthropology research by selecting Anthropology under All Subjects.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides over 20,000 indexed and abstracted journals including 6,600 full-text journals and magazines, nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. PDF content dating back to 1887.
To see which titles are available in full-text, as well as the names of all titles indexed and abstracted, check the EBSCOhost Database Coverage List and Title List by Subject . Updated daily.
Anthrosource This link opens in a new window
Contains current issues for 15 of the AAA's peer-reviewed publications as well as an electronic archive of all AAA journals
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Offers interdisciplinary content including approximately 2,600 academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials.
On occasions, you may encounter problems opening PDFs. The reason for this to happen is most likely due to the time out error. This could be due to a slow internet connection or a large download size. Many times, articles with images contained in them will time out the download.
To resolve this, right click on the link "Proceed to PDF" and select "Save Target As..." (or "Save Link as..." for Firefox). This will allow you to save the PDF to your computer and should allow for a faster, more successful download.
If the problem persists, check the PDF Help Page at JSTOR
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Provide access to full-text scholarly journals in the Humanities and Social Sciences with over 120 publishers currently participating.
View the List of Journals Covered
Los Angeles Times (1881-1995) This link opens in a new window
The Los Angeles Times (1881-1995), also called Historical Los Angeles Times, is Southern California's largest daily newspaper. The current segment of the Los Angeles Times from 1985-present is available for electronic access at Cal State Los Angeles on this A-Z list as a separate entry.
Los Angeles Times (1996- current) This link opens in a new window
Southern California's largest daily newspaper. For electronic access to the historical segment of Los Angeles Time from 1881 to 1994, use Los Angeles Times (1881-1994) or Historical Los Angeles Times.
DESCRIPTION:
The Los Angeles Times is the Southern California's largest daily newspaper. CSULA has electronic access to the newspaper from 1/1/1985 to present.
The historical segment of the Los Angeles Times from 1881-1992 is available for electronic access at Historical Los Angeles Times.
The Los Angeles Times is also available at its own website: http://www.latimes.com/. One can access articles from the last week of the paper, as well as some specially selected older stories at no cost.

GUIDES:

Finding the Full Text of an Article from a Database Search

Library databases enable you to retrieve the full-text of an article, either by clicking the full-text link or the button for the article you want.

Does the database you are searching in provide this article in PDF or HTML full-text?

If so, click on the full text link to save and/or print the full article and export the article citation to Refworks.

If not, click on to learn how to locate the article in full-text. This page will let you know if:

1. The article you are looking for is available in another database

2. If the article is not available in another database, you can submit a request to get the article using Interlibrary Loan (ILL). ILL is a service where the library gets an electronic copy of the article for you for free and sends you a notification to your email.

University Library

ANTH 4800: Anthropological Methods and Techniques

Library Databases for Anthropology 4800

Cal State LA Library Databases

https://libguides.calstatela.edu/az.php

Finding the Full Text of an Article from a Database Search