Career & Job Resources

LIBRARY DATABASES

Many library databases provide high quality company information and data. To access library databases, go to the library web homepage (library.calstatela.edu), and select Databases under the OneSearch box.

• MarketLine  provides company and industry insight on a global scale. It is a comprehensive collection of company, industry and country information extending across all continents and every major industry. MarketLine provides company reports, statistical modeling functions, interactive reports and databases along with an integrated news service updated on a daily basis.  The Company Reports include the following company information: Business Description, History, Key Employees and Biographies, Company View, Locations and Subsidiaries, SWOT Analysis, Revenue Analysis, Key Competitors, Major Products and Services.
   
• Business Source Premier  In addition to covering the Company Reports, the database provides index and full text for more than 3,000 scholarly business journals, including full text for nearly 1000 peer-reviewed business publications. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business.
   
• Factiva provides companies information and general news including the same day news from publications such as the Wall Street Journal and New York Times. It covers over 300,000 company codes and 8,000 publications.
   
• Mergent Intellect  offers access to private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles, and job search solution.
   
• Mergent Online contains information for 25,000 U.S. public companies (active and inactive) listed on the NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ exchanges and 20,000 non-U.S. companies.  Company coverage includes: history, mergers, acquisitions, disposals, joint ventures, business, property, subsidiaries, officers and directors, news reports, long-term debt, bond ratings, capital stock, exchange and ticker symbol, annual stock price ranges, registrar, transfer agent, stock splits, dividend payment history, income statement, cash flow statement, balance sheet, contact information, auditors, and qualified auditors report.
   
• MorningStar Investment Research Center
  Provides investment information on mutual funds, stocks, exchange-traded funds, and more. It provides data on over 14,500 stocks, 24,800 mutual funds, 1,500 exchange-traded funds, and 700 closed end funds, as well as analyst reports on over 3,500 securities, offering in-depth background and analyst opinions on top investments.  Morningstar® Investment Research Center allows students and faculty to conduct in-depth research for course assignments and personal investing needs. It features: 
  • Screening tools for funds, stocks, and ETFs
  • Customizable charts with historical pricing data
  • Tools to help students build and analyze model portfolios
  • Articles and videos from Morningstar analysts Real-time data

For more information on company research, please visit library database pages for Business, Management, Economics & Statistics, Marketing and Finance.

LIBRARY BOOKS
To search for library books in both electronic and print formats, follow the steps below:

• Go to library web (library.calstatela.edu), enter keywords of your choice in the OneSearch box
• At the result page, click Books under Material Type on the left of the screen
• You will see a list of books (ebook or print book) available in the library. 
• You can further narrow your search down by Subject, Publication Date, Language, and more

• GuideStar
  GuideStar provides data for millions nonprofit organizations in the United States. Data includes revenue tables, expense tables, and balance sheets; organization overview (mission, audience, etc.); annual reports, lists of officers and other key personnel, and access to IRS 990 Forms (typically all available forms since 1997). The database can be searched by keyword, geographic location, type of nonprofit, IRS Subsection (501(c)3, etc.), and NTEE (National Taxonomy of Exempt Entities) codes.

Many library databases provide high quality industry information and data. To access library databases, go to the library web homepage (library.calstatela.edu), and select Databases under the OneSearch box.

• BizMiner covers industry financial ratios, balance sheet and detailed profit and loss statements for 10,000 lines of business, including some hard to find small businesses that don't exist as large industries.
   
• Business Insights: Global provides a broad and detailed coverage of international business. It includes case studies, full-text articles and data sets coupled with references and tools for analysis. This resource empowers users to not only research topics, but to interpret research. In includes Global company, country and business topic overviews featuring detailed information as well as interactive rankings and statistics, with quick links to associated content; Company histories and market share data; Global industry research reports; Full-text articles from academic journals, business periodicals, newswires and other media outlets; Hundreds of economic and business indicators that allow for analyses of economies, companies and industries; Case studies from Gale's CaseBase as well as from our publishing partners worldwide; Interactive LiveCharts for economic and business indicators that let researchers generate their own analyses and custom charts for reports and presentations. 
   
• First Research  provides access to an online library of profiles on over 1,000 industry segments. The database contains critical analysis,statistics and forecasts including: New condensed industry profile overview in addition to the traditional full profile overview; The competitive landscape; Products, operations and technology; Finance and regulation; Regional and international issues; Human resources; and Labor statistics.
   
• IBISWorld provides U.S. industry research and analysis for 700 different market segments. Each industry report presents answers to top market research questions, and is used for understanding market size, competitors, drafting business plans, benchmarking, forecasting, business valuations, litigation support, due diligence, and more.

For more information on industry research, please visit library database pages for Business, Management, Economics & Statistics, Marketing, and Finance.

LIBRARY BOOKS
To search for library books in both electronic and print formats, follow the steps below:

• Go to library web (library.calstatela.edu), enter keywords of your choice in the OneSearch box
• At the result page, click Books under Material Type on the left of the screen
• You will see a list of books (ebook or print book) available in the library. 
• You can further narrow your search down by Subject, Publication Date, Language, and more