LibGuides: SOC/PAS 3480: Web Resources

Useful Resources

Is Race Real?
How Race is LIved In America?
Immigrant and Ethnic America
The Gerontological Society of America is a non-profit professional organization with more than 5000 members in the field of aging. GSA provides researchers, educators, practitioners, and policy makers with opportunities to understand, advance, integrate, and use basic and applied research on aging to improve the quality of life as one ages.
American Assocation of Retired Persons (AARP)
AARP is a nonprofit membership organization dedicated to addressing the needs and interests of persons 50 and older. Through information and education, advocacy and service, they seek to enhance the quality of life for all by promoting independence, dignity and purpose. The AARP site features sections on current legislation and elections as well as policy and research.
AARP's AgeSource/AgeStats Worldwide
AgeSource Worldwide identifies several hundred information resources in some 25 countries which are significant either in size or in their unique coverage of particular aging-related issues. The resources include, among others, clearinghouses, libraries, databases, training materials, major reports, and Web metasites. AgeStats Worldwide provides access to statistical data that compare the situation of older adults across countries or regions around a variety of issues, such as demography, pensions, health and long-term care. The most recent data and projections as far ahead as 2050 are provided where available.
The Resource Directory for Older People
A cooperative effort of the National Institute on Aging (NIA) and the Administration on Aging (AoA), the Resource Directory for Older People is intended to serve a wide audience including older people and their families, health and legal professionals, social service providers, librarians, researchers, and others with an interest in the field of aging. The directory contains names, addresses, phone numbers, and fax numbers of organizations which provide information and other resources on matters relating to the needs of older persons.
Alzheimer Page
The Alzheimer Page is the Internet Gateway for the Alzheimer List, a free e-mail based support group for family caregivers and professionals. The site includes the Caregiver Resources page, an extensive list of links to resources specifically targeted towards caregivers as well as a searchable archive, which includes all posts to the Alzheimer List since 1994.
American Health Assistance Foundation: Alzheimer's Disease Research
Alzheimer's Disease Research (ADR), a program of the American Health Assistance Foundation, was established in 1985 to fund research on and educate the public about Alzheimer's disease. The ADR website includes current information about treatment and risk factors, as well as useful Fact Sheets and links to research publications.
U.S. Census Bureau: Age Data
Features census data about the older (55+) and elderly (65+) populations on the national, state, and county levels, including surveys, estimates, and future projections.