LibGuides: Television, Film, & Media Studies: Scripts

Scripts Online

The Library offers a limited number of scripts in book form.

Browse scripts on the shelf on the 3rd Floor of Library North around the call number range PN1997-1997.85.
Browse scripts in OneSearch using the Subject Heading (tag) for scripts "Motion Picture Plays." From the Advanced Search screen change the drop-down for "Any Field" to "Subject," and type "Motion Picture Plays" in the search area. Then, use the filters on the left-hand side to narrow to books.
You can also browse scripts at other CSUs, and universities around the country using CSU+. Change the round "Search For" button from "Cal State LA Collections" to "CSU Collections and Beyond." You can then request print scripts from other institutions be sent here for you.

Margaret Herrick Library Film Script Database
This database details the film script holdings of eight Los Angeles area collections: the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences; the American Film Institute; the Frances Howard Goldwyn Hollywood Regional Library; the University of California, Los Angeles; the University of Southern California; the Writers Guild of America, West; the Warner Bros. Archives at University of Southern California's School of Cinematic Arts; and the California Institute of the Arts Library.
Writers Guild of America
Located on Fairfax Blvd. in Los Angeles, CA, the WGA Library collects scripts and related materials, and makes them available to everyone who comes to visit—not just Writers Guild members. The library is accessible in person by appointment only.
Frances Howard Goldwyn Hollywood Regional Library - Collection Information
Includes 2,500 manuscripts of screenplays as well as many other pieces of Hollywood history.