Civic Libraries & Historical Organizations
- Alhambra, CA
History of Alhambra (Alhambra Historical Society) ~ Alhambra Library
- Allensworth, CA
Tulare County Library: History Room - Allensworth Materials ~ Tulare County: Allensworth Colony ~ Friends of Allensworth
- Anaheim, CA
Anaheim Historical Society ~ Anaheim Heritage Reading Room
- Atwater, CA
City of Atwater - Atwater History ~ Turlock Historical Society
- Culver City, CA
Culver City History & Info
- Detroit, MI
Detroit Historical Society ~ Clarke Historical Library: A History of Detroit ~ Detroit African American History Project
- Forks, WA
Olympic Peninsula Community Museum: Online Exhibits ~ University of Washington: University Libraries Digital Collection
- Glendale, CA
Glendale Historical Society
- Hollywood, CA
Historic L.A.: Hollywood
- Independence, CA
Eastern California Museum ~ Independence, CA - A Bit of History
- New York, NY
New York Historical Society - eMuseum ~ New York Public Library Digital Gallery - Historic Maps
- Pasadena, CA
Pasadena Museum of History ~ Heritage: A Short History of Pasadena
- Philadelphia, PA
Historical Society of Pennsylvania: Philadelphia History ~ Historic Philadelphia ~ PhillyHistory.org
- Riverside, CA
Riverside Historical Society ~ Riverside Public Library - Local History Collections
- San Francisco, CA
San Francisco Museum & Historical Society: Research Links ~ Virtual Museum of the City of San Francisco ~ Encyclopedia of San Francisco
- West Covina, CA
Historical Society of West Covina (Contact information)
- Tacoma, WA
Tacoma Historical Society ~ Tacoma Public Library - Image Archives
- Las Vegas, NV
Nevada State Museum: Las Vegas - Virtual Exhibits ~ University of Nevada Las Vegas - Digital Collections
Search Directories
- Librarians' Internet Index (LII)
A directory of "Websites you can trust" more because their content is reviewed by librarians
- Infomine
A collection of scholarly internet resources maintained by librarians from the University of California and others
- The Open Directory Project (ODP)
Maintained by a global community of volunteer editors, the ODP claims it's the largest human-edited web directory
Statistics
- American FactFinder
Population, housing, economic, and geographic data from the U.S. Census Bureau
- MapStats
Information from multiple federal agencies in a single site
- Statistical Abstract
Comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States
- Historical Statistics of the United States
Requires myCSULA-login. Provides historical data for U.S. economics, government, finance, sociology, demography, education, law, natural resources, climate, religion, migration, and trade.
