LibGuides: Chicana(o) & Latina(o) Studies: Newspapers & Magazines

Newspapers

Hispanic American Newspapers (1808-1980) This link opens in a new window
A historical newspaper archive of Spanish, English, and bi-lingual newspapers printed in the U.S.

Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press
From the University of Arizona. The Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press collection documents and showcases historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s.
New Mexico Historical Newspapers
Newspapers focusing on the late 1800s-1920s in English and Spanish.

Comité de México y Aztlán, News Monitoring Service (Print)
Call Number: Level 2 North E184.M5 C65
Publication Date: 1973-1980
The previous month's clippings on Mexican-American events and Mexico from seven major Southwestern United States newspapers.

Historical Los Angeles Times (1881-1994) This link opens in a new window
Historical back issues of the newspaper including all articles, editorials, classified ads, comics, cartoons, photos, maps, and graphics. For electronic access to current Los Angeles Times from 1985 to present, use Los Angeles Times (1985-present).
Los Angeles Times (1985-current) This link opens in a new window
Southern California's largest daily newspaper.
GUIDES:

California Newspaper Project
INDEX ONLY, NO FULL TEXT of Historic California newspapers. Its database allows researchers to narrow their contacts to institutions holding the relevant titles.
California Digital Newspaper Collection
A Freely Accessible Repository of Digitized California Newspapers from 1846 to the Present

Historical New York Times (1851-2019) This link opens in a new window
Historical back issues of the newspaper including all articles, editorials, classified ads, comics, cartoons, photos, maps, and graphics. For electronic access to current editions, use New York Times Digital.
New York Times (1980-present) This link opens in a new window
A newspaper archive of the print version of the New York Times to 1980. For older back issues, see the New York Times Historical (1851-2019), and for current digital coverage, see New York Times - Digital Edition.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers (1800-1899) This link opens in a new window
A historical newspaper archive including images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 1800s U.S. newspapers. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement, and illustration.
News, by Gale OneFile This link opens in a new window
Major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts, and transcripts.
Alternative Press Index Archive (1969-1990) This link opens in a new window
Produced quarterly by the Alternative Press Center, indexes nearly 290 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines that report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political and social change.
Coverage: 1969-1990
Alt PressWatch SoftLine This link opens in a new window
Newspapers, magazines, and some peer-reviewed articles from the alternative and independent press. Alternative media is typically labeled as separate from corporate or government media sources, often representing counter-culture or sub-culture that is left out of main stream media sources.

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
American History
more...less...
Chronicling America is a Website providing access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages, and is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP). NDNP, a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LC), is a long-term effort to develop an Internet-based, searchable database of U.S. newspapers with descriptive information and select digitization of historic pages.

Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers (1800-1899) This link opens in a new window
A historical newspaper archive including images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 1800s U.S. newspapers. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement, and illustration.

Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Current and historical news from the 1980s to current. News sources cover the culture and history of ethnic and minority issues, including minority and native press publications, in a variety of languages.
Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Up-to-date global news content with archives that stretch back into the 1980s. Sources include newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites in full-text form.
Global Newsstream provides collections of news from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Global Newsstream incorporates the U.S. Newsstream, Canadian Newsstream, and International Newsstream databases. All titles are cross searchable on the ProQuest platform.

DIRECT LINKS TO MAJOR NEWSPAPERS:

Hermoteca National Digital De Mexico
Spanish Language digital archive of newspapers from the Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM). Some content is restricted to UNAM affiliates only.

Google News Archive Central & Latin America

Goole News Archive

Newspapers available in the Google News archive compiled by Michigan State University Libraries

Newspaper	Country and Number of Issues	Dates Available
Diario del Hogar	(MEXICO) 8,477 issues	Sep 16, 1881 - Nov 15, 1914
El Abogado Cristiano	(MEXICO) 1,047 issues	Aug 1, 1880 - Dec 26, 1929
El Alacran	(MEXICO) 34 issues	Sep 3, 1899 - May 19, 1900
El Asilo de Mendigos	(MEXICO) 38 issues	Jul 1, 1879 - Oct 31, 1889
El Bautista	(MEXICO) 127 issues	May 19, 1910 - Dec 26, 1912
El Correo del Comercio	(MEXICO) 1,374 issues	Sep 15, 1871 - Oct 12, 1876
El Correo Espanol	(MEXICO) 7,147 issues	Nov 9, 1889 - Dec 31, 1914
El Cronista Musical	34 issues	May 1, 1887 - Dec 25, 1887
El Cruzado	(MEXICO) 60 issues	Jul 22, 1893 - Sep 16, 1894
El Diario de Nueva York	(USA, New York) 248 issues	Jan 2, 1962 - Apr 29, 1963
El Diario la Prensa	(USA, New York) 689 issues	May 2, 1963 - Jun 21, 1968
El Monitor Republicano	(MEXICO) 469 issues	Jul 1, 1884 - Dec 31, 1885
El Nacional	(MEXICO) 3,784 issues	Apr 1, 1890 - Dec 31, 1918
El Pais	(MEXICO) 4,423 issues	Sep 26, 1900 - Aug 22, 1914
El Pajaro Verde	(MEXICO) 1,960 issues	May 13, 1865 - Dec 31, 1886
El Partido Liberal	(MEXICO) 2,777 issues	Nov 13, 1886 - Oct 15, 1896
El Siglo Diez Y Nueve	(MEXICO) 967 issues	Jun 25,1893 - Oct 15, 1896
El Tiempo	(COLOMBIA) 21,397 issues	Feb 2, 1911 - Mar 31, 2007
El Universal	(MEXICO) 5,194 issues	Nov 16, 1848 - Dec 7, 1901
Jornal do Brasil	(BRAZIL) 18,167 issues	Apr 8, 1891 - Dec 31, 1999
La Nacion	(COSTA RICA) 9,480 issues	Nov 13, 1945 - Dec 31, 1991
La Opinion	(USA, Los Angeles) 23,971 issues	Mar 8, 1891 - Sep 30, 2008
La Sociedad	(MEXICO) 1,915 issues	Dec 26, 1857 - Mar 31, 1867