LibGuides: Chicana(o) & Latina(o) Studies: Videos & Media

Streaming Services

Alexander Street Video This link opens in a new window
Streaming documentary and education films, newsreel and broadcast news features, historical films, and subject-specific video across multi-disciplines. Notable publishers include 60 Minutes, Sony Pictures Classics, and more.
Kanopy Videos This link opens in a new window
Beginning April 15, 2024, Android 7.1.1 will be the earliest supported Android OS for Kanopy mobile use. Users will be prompted to update if necessary starting on that date.
Streaming documentaries, independent feature films, foreign films, classic cinema, and select popular movies.
Information about Viewing Kanopy Videos on Mobile Devices
The Kanopy films can be viewed on iPhones, iPads, and Android phones and tablets using the Kanopy app. Download the app for iPhone or iPad from the Apple App Store, or download the app for Android phones and tablets from the Google Play Store.
To use the app, you'll need a Kanopy account associated with Cal State LA. If you have a non-Cal State LA Kanopy account, you must make a Cal State LA-specific account to access our resources through the app.
If you already created an account on the Kanopy web page via the Library Databases page, you can directly select Log In when you first open the app. If you don't have a Kanopy account yet, after downloading the app, select “Get Started,” select the Find University link as shown below, and then follow the steps to create your Kanopy account:

• Type in California State University, Los Angeles.
• Select our campus name, and click Next to get to the campus login page.
• Log in using MyCalStateLA ID and password. Please note when you type in your ID, please don’t include @calstatela.edu.
• To create your account, you need to use your Cal State LA email address, but you can use a different password for your Kanopy account.
• Once you have created your Kanopy account, you can then login to Kanopy app on your phone or tablet.
For help creating a Kanopy account on your iPhone or iPad, go to iPhone Help Page.
For help creating a Kanopy account on your Android phone or tablet, go to Android Help Page.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Streaming documentaries, educational TV shows, and academic films from producers such as PBS, HBO, and BBC Learning.
Music & Dance Online This link opens in a new window
Streaming audio and video, encyclopedia articles, non-scholarly articles, and primary sources. Materials include live performances, audio, instructional films, plays, posters and playbills, interviews, and choreography.
Please use VPN to access the database remotely.
Docuseek Documentary Collection This link opens in a new window
Streaming documentary films, including the Good Docs collection, with a focus on social and environmental issues.
Guides
Introduction to using Docuseek
Good Docs Collection Title List
Integration with Canvas
Participating Distributors
Subjects

Popular Films on Demand

Below are just a few of the films on our library streaming services

Chicano! History of the Mexican-American Civil Rights Movement (1996)
This four part landmark documentary series now a classic for Mexican American history of the U.S., chronicles the struggle for equality and social justice of the Mexican American community in the United States from 1965 to 1975. Produced from Austin Texas by Galan Productions, Inc. It features the Chicano land struggle, Cesar Chavez and the UFW, the Los Angeles High School Walk-outs and the creation of the political party La Raza Unida.
Papers: Stories of Undocumented Youth (2009)
Papers is the story of undocumented youth and the challenges they face as they turn 18 without legal status in the United States. These are young people who know only the U.S. as home and who, upon high school graduation, find the door to the future slammed shut. They live at risk of arrest, detention and deportation to countries they may not even remember. Currently, there is no path to citizenship for most of these young people.
Stolen Education (2013)
As a 9 year-old second grader, Lupe had been forced to remain in the first grade for three years, not because of her academic performance but solely because she was Mexican American. She was one of eight young students who testified in a federal court case in 1956 to end the discriminatory practice (Hernandez et al. v. Driscoll Consolidated Independent School District), one of the first post-Brown desegregation court cases to be litigated.
Zoot Suit Riots (2002)
In June 1943, Los Angeles erupted into the worst race riots in the city to date. For ten straight nights, American sailors armed with makeshift weapons cruised Mexican-American neighborhoods in search of “zoot-suiters”—hip, young teens dressed in baggy pants and long-tailed coats—symbols that blurred cultural lines and pushed the boundaries of race and class. Their posturing and self-assurance made Anglos nervous and soon a violent street battle ensued. When it was over, scores of Latinos and servicemen were in hospital beds. Zoot Suit Riots, an episode from the PBS American Experience collection, is a powerful film that centers on the story of an unsolved murder that occurred during these strange and turbulent days. It explores the influx of new immigrants, the booming wartime economy, the complicated racial tensions, and the changing social and political landscape that led up to the explosion on L.A.'s streets in the summer of ’43. Distributed by PBS Distribution. (55 minutes) Distributed by PBS Distribution.

Popular DVDs

Below are just a few of the films on DVD available for checkout at the library service desk

El Norte = The North
Call Number: DVDs - Level 1 Service Desk PN1997 .N665
Publication Date: 1997
"El Norte" is a touching drama about two Guatemalan teenagers, a brother and a sister, who leave their native land following the murder of their father and the disappearance of their mother. Enrique and Rosa are determined to start a new life in "The North", and set out on foot for California, after hearing grand tales of toilets that flush and having gazed with wonder at borrowed copies of "Good Housekeeping" magazine.
The Lemon Grove incident by Christopher, Frank, director
Call Number: DVDs - Level 1 Service Desk LC2688.L47 L466
Publication Date: 2005
Focusing on one of the earliest school desegregation cases, uses dramatizations, archival footage, and recollections of witnesses to examine the response of the Mexican-American community in Lemon Grove, Calif., to a 1930 school board attempt to create a segregated Mexican school in the district.
Mendez vs. Westminster : for all the children = para todos los niños
Call Number: Course Reserves - Level 1 Service Desk LC212.522.C2 M45
Publication Date: 2006
In 1943, Gonzalo Méndez sued the Westminster School District of Orange County, California in order to end segregation in the public schools. This court case set an important legal precedent for ending segregation in the United States. Interviews with Sylvia Mendez, Sandra Mendez Duran, Felicitas Mendez. Professor Gilbert Gonzalez from the University of California, Irvine is also interviewed.
No más bebés = No more babies by Rene Tajima Pena
Call Number: DVDs - Level 1 Service Desk HV4989 .N6
Publication Date: 2015
"The story of Mexican immigrant women who were pushed into sterilization while giving birth at L.A. County hospital during the 1970s. Alongside intrepid young Chicana/o lawyers and a whistle-blowing doctor, the mothers stood up to powerful institutions in the name of justice"