LibGuides: Animation: Citation & Ethical Use

Citations

This two-minute video from NC State University Libraries explains citations, citation styles, and how they are used in academic writing.

“Citation: A (Very) Brief Introduction” by NCSU Libraries is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 3.0

Cal State LA Writing & Citing Guide
Get more information about when to cite, avoiding plagiarism, annotated bibliographies, citation tools, and getting help.

Purdue OWL: Chicago Manual of Style
Purdue University's Online Writing Lab is the go-to trusted resource for quick and easy to understand information on writing style and citation.

Chicago Style 18th ed. Quick Guide (Notes-Bib)
How to cite the most common course types using the Notes-Bibliography system, typically used in History, the Humanities, Literature, and sometimes Social Sciences.
Chicago Style Author-Date Handout 18th ed.
Primary Sources in Chicago Style (Notes-Bib)
Created by The Cal State LA University Library
Citing Creative Works in Chicago Style (Notes-Bib)
How to cite creative works such as paintings, music scores, and songs.

Library of Congress Citing Primary Sources
Please note these are based on the 15th edition and may require some updates to be in line with the current 18th edition.
Turabian Online
Online guide for Turabian style.

MLA Style Guide (9th ed.)
This printable handout from Cal State LA Library explains how to create in-text citations, gives examples of how to create references for different formats, and presents a checklist for formatting your paper.

MLA Interactive Practice Template
Use this digital template from MLA to help you create citations.
Sample MLA Style Papers
See sample student papers and works cited lists at the MLA Style Center .
MLA Style from Excelsior OWL
Learn the basics of MLA style including in-text citations and works cited lists from Excelsior University Online Writing Lab.

Chicago Manual of Style Online This link opens in a new window
The full text of the Chicago Manual of Style Online 17th edition provides searchable recommendations on editorial/citation style and publishing practices used in the humanities and social sciences.
MLA Handbook Plus This link opens in a new window
An officially authorized book on MLA style. The database includes the full handbook, citation examples, sample papers, tutorials, and more.

CAA's Guide to Intellectual Property in the Arts
The College Art Association of America's guidelines including: CAA’s Code of Best Practices in Fair Use for the Visual Arts; US Copyright: Fundamentals & Documents; Image Sources and Rights Clearance Agencies; Other Fair Use Guidelines, Practices, and Policies; Copyright Outside the United States; Legal Assistance.

Legal Guide for the Visual Artist by Tad Crawford; M. J. Bogatin
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781621538110
Publication Date: 2022
This sixth edition is completely revised and updated to provide an in-depth view of the legal issues facing the visual artist today and provides practical legal guidance for any visual artist involved with creative work. The book covers copyrights, moral rights, contracts, licensing, sales, special risks and protections for art and artists, book publishing, video and multimedia works, leases, taxation, estate planning, museums, collecting, grants, and how to find the best professional advisers and attorneys. In addition, the book suggests basic strategies for negotiation, gives information to help with further action, contains many sample legal forms and contracts, and shows how to locate artists' groups and Volunteer Lawyers for the Arts organizations.