LibGuides: Chicana(o) & Latina(o) Studies: CLS 1300 -- Constitution, Law, & Chicanx/Latinx Communities: News and Comentary

Newspapers

Los Angeles Times (1985-current) This link opens in a new window
Southern California's largest daily newspaper.
GUIDES:
Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2010) This link opens in a new window
A historical newspaper archive of the most important African American newspaper published in Los Angeles, from its founding in 1934 through 2010.

New York Times - Digital Edition This link opens in a new window
New users MUST register first for free access!
See our Instructions for creating your NYT account.

After creating your account, access articles, video, audio, digital images of the newspaper back to 1851, and more through the New York Times website and the NYT mobile app!

Also access Cooking, Games, and The Athletic!
The New York Times Digital Edition (nytimes.com web access and app access) is available for all current Cal State LA students, faculty, and staff, courtesy of the University Library. Access articles from 1851-present, interactive graphics, videos, podcasts, digitized images, and more!
The New York Times Cooking, Games, and The Athletic are also available to all current Cal State LA students, faculty, and staff for one year from the date of your activation. Please note that a decision to continue with paid subscriptions to these sections will be evaluated based on usage and available funding.
See our New York Times LibGuide for more information!
New Users - Get Access!
1. Go to accessnyt.com to register.
2. Follow the step-by-step instructions to create a new account.
Note: If you are off-campus, you may be prompted to sign in through the library's authentication site using your MyCalStateLA credentials.
3. Make sure to sign up using your Cal State LA email address.
4. After registration is complete, log into www.nytimes.com or through the NYT mobile app to start using your free subscription.
***If you encounter any error messages, please email edu@nytimes.com.
See our New York Times LibGuide for information on what to do if you have an already existing NYT subscription or information about the NYT App!
New York Times (1980-present) This link opens in a new window
A newspaper archive of the print version of the New York Times to 1980. For older back issues, see the New York Times Historical (1851-2019), and for current digital coverage, see New York Times - Digital Edition.
News, by Gale OneFile This link opens in a new window
Major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts, and transcripts.
Alt PressWatch SoftLine This link opens in a new window
Newspapers, magazines, and some peer-reviewed articles from the alternative and independent press. Alternative media is typically labeled as separate from corporate or government media sources, often representing counter-culture or sub-culture that is left out of main stream media sources.
Washington Post (2016-present) This link opens in a new window
A newspaper archive of the print version of the Washington Post from 2016-present.

Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Current and historical news from the 1980s to current. News sources cover the culture and history of ethnic and minority issues, including minority and native press publications, in a variety of languages.
Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Up-to-date global news content with archives that stretch back into the 1980s. Sources include newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites in full-text form.
Global Newsstream provides collections of news from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Global Newsstream incorporates the U.S. Newsstream, Canadian Newsstream, and International Newsstream databases. All titles are cross searchable on the ProQuest platform.

DIRECT LINKS TO MAJOR NEWSPAPERS:

Hermoteca National Digital De Mexico
Spanish Language digital archive of newspapers from the Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM). Some content is restricted to UNAM affiliates only.

University Library

Chicana(o) & Latina(o) Studies: CLS 1300 -- Constitution, Law, & Chicanx/Latinx Communities

Newspapers