LibGuides: Collections Guide: Policies, Procedures, and Guidelines

Collection Development, Evaluation, and Assessment

Collection Development Policy
The public facing-collection policy document for the campus community.

Collection Development Guidelines
Outlines how librarians and CSC committee should purchase materials.
Physical Deselection Criteria
Guidelines for identifying and selecting physical material for withdrawal.
Cultural Heritage and Other Display Policy and Procedures

A-Z Database List

Coming soon...A-Z List Review working group is working on a project to develop policies and procedures for the management and maintenance of the A-Z list.

Please contact Kendall or Jenn for more info.

Budget and Funds

One Bucket Budget Proposal
Documents the scope, timeline, and process for implementing a trial of using a One-Bucket fund for firm orders (rather than individual subject funds).
Collection Funds - Guide
Defines the various types and scopes of library collection funds. LB, LS, LS, and LRS

Donations and Gifts

Donations and Gifts
Policies and procedures for donating or gifting material to the University Library.

Promotion of Library Collections

OneSearch Featured Collections

A joint collaboration between liaison librarians and CDCM to highlight and promote Cal State LA's collections, including both print and electronic resources.

Guide for Librarians
Information on getting started with OneSearch Featured Collections.

OneSearch Featured Collections Request Form
Use this form to submit a request to CDCM for a new Featured Collection.
Recording from 2/24/23 meeting
Overview session providing information about the process of beginning a new Featured Collection.

Reports (Usage, Circulation, Weeding, Cost/Usage, etc.)

Analytics Reports

Analytics report request (circulation data, usage, etc.)
Use this form to send your request to CDCM for print and/or e-resource related analytics reports.

Reporting Codes

Refer to the Alma Marketplace Purchasing Steps for more information about adding reporting codes to your Rialto orders.

Reporting Codes
(Last updated March 29, 2024)
Including three reporting codes:
Reporting Code 1 - Type of item being purchased
Reporting Code 2 - Current programs at Cal State LA
Reporting Code 3 - Reason for purchase
Reporting Code 4 - Not current programs at Cal State LA