LibGuides: Health Statistics: Home

Welcome to Health Statistics Research Guide:

The Health Statistics Guide provides links to national as well as international health data on health care, diseases and statistical resources of interest to health professionals.

This extensive Guide was graciously shared by Bruce Abbott, Health Sciences Librarian at UC Davis. With his permission, it has been reproduced as a CSULA LibGuide. Thank you, Bruce!

Best Places To Start:

AHRQ: State Snapshots
America's Health Ranking
CDC - Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR)
CDC Health, US annual report on trends in health statistics.
CDC National Center for Health Statistics
CDC Vaccines & Immunization: Statistics and Surveillance
CDC: Data and Statistics
CDC: Diseases and Conditions
CDC: Health Data Interactive
CDC: Information Networks and Other Information Sources
CDC: Injury Data and Resources
CDC: Public Health Genomics Data & Statistics
Data-Planet statistical datasets
Provides access to statistical data produced by U.S. Federal agencies, States, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations. There are up to 2 billion charts, maps, views, rankings, time series and tables available for use in the Data-Planet repository. Data-Planet Statistical Datasets offers powerful capabilities to compare & contrast multiple data series, perform statistical calculations on the data, and customize output views.
Gapminder World
Contains over 200 indicators displaying trends--in some cases back to the year 1800. The data in Gapminder World is constantly updated and refined.
It is freely accessible.
HCUP Statistical Briefs by topic
HealthyPeople.gov DATA2030 search
ICPSR: Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Science Research
Kaiser Family Foundation: 50 State Comparison
Kaiser Family Foundation: Individual State Profiles
National Alliance for Caregivers: Reports
National Cancer Institute: Glossary of Statistical Terms
NCHS Health United States
NCHS: Fastats
OECD Health: Key Tables
OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) and provides informational statistics on its member nations and selected others.
Pharmaceutical Statistics from the National Library of Medicine
Simply Analytics
SimplyAnalytics is a web-based mapping application that enables you to quickly create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using powerful demographic, business, and marketing data. The maps can be exported as high-resolution images for use in reports and presentations, and data can be exported into Microsoft Excel worksheets and Microsoft Word documents. It includes target marketing, advertising campaigns, commercial and residential real estate development, retail store site selection, ranking studies, and social and demographic analyses. Access provided: various
U.S. Census Bureau: Data by Subject
U.S. Census Bureau: Disability
University of Michigan University of Michigan Institute for Social Research: Population Studies Center
World Health Organization Global Health Observatory
The Global Health Observatory (GHO) is the World Health Organization's portal providing access to data and analyses for monitoring the global health situation. It provides critical data and analyses for key health themes, as well as direct access to the full database.

Databases:

MEDLINE/PubMed
MeSH Terms:

Biostatistics
"Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (U.S.)"
"National Center for Health Statistics (U.S.)"
Statistics as Topic
Statistics, Nonparametric
Vital Statistics
"statistics and numerical data"[MeSH Subheading]
Incidence
Epidemiology
Utilization[MeSH Subheading]

Historical Statistics of the United States

FedStats

FedStats
A well-organized site for statistical information available from more than 100 U.S. government agency web sites. Statistics can be searched by keyword or browsed by topic or agency.

Statistics Tutorials:

National Cancer Institute: Understanding Prognosis and Cancer Statistics
National Cancer Instituter: Glossary of Statistical Terms
NLM: Data, Tools, and Statistics
NLM: Finding and Using Health Statistics
PH Partners: Health Statistics Tutorials
HealthData.gov
A federal government website managed by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services.
University of Chicago Library Health Statistics
NLM--Finding and Using Health Statistics course

CDC Data & Statistics page

CDC Data & Statistics
The CDC's A-Z list of statistics.

General Directories of Statistical Resources

AHRQ: Data and Surveys
CDC: Data and Statistics
CDC: National Center for Health Statistics
Directory of Health and Human Services Data Resources
FedStats
State Health Facts Online
more...less...
Kaiser Family Foundation statistical resource contains state-level data on demographics, health and health policy, including health coverage, access, financing, and state legislation.

Kids Count Data Center

Annie E. Casey Foundation: Kids Count Data Center

Health Maps

Cancer Mortality Maps & Graph
CDC FASTSTATS MAP: State and Territorial Data
CDC: Oral Health Maps
CDC: Synopses of State and Territorial Dental Public Health Programs
Dartmouth Atlas or Health Care: Medicare Data
Global Wildlife Disease news Map (archived--from Internet Wayback Machine)
HealthLandscape
HEALTHmap: Global disease alert map
HRSA Geospatial Data Warehouse
Kaiser Family Foundation: StateHealthFacts Map
National Cancer Institute: Interactive Maps, Trends
NationMaster: (Create Statistical Data Maps: CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD)
State Data Map (NAHIC)
more...less...
NAHIC is funded by a grant from the Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. It has a sister center, The Policy Center, and is located at the Research & Policy Center for Childhood & Adolescence at UCSF.
WHO Themes (Core Health Indicators)

Pew Research Center: Health

Pew Research Center: Health

Pew Research Center: Numbers, Facts and Trends Shaping Your World

Wolfram|Alpha

Wolfram|Alpha - Health & Medicine

Wolfram|Alpha a computational knowledge engine: it generates output by doing computations from its own internal knowledge base, instead of searching the web and returning links.
Wolfram/Alpha - Medical Tests

Comments (0)

University Library

Health Statistics