LibGuides: BUS 4150 Contemporary Issues in Global Business: Global Business

Global Business Databases

IBIS World
Select Global Industry Reports, or search on company name or line of business to see industry reports.
MarketLine
Search by country & city profile to get country analysis report and In-depth PESTLE Insights. It also includes graphs and charts for industry potential and economic indicators.
Mergent Online
Start typing your company name; Click on it when it comes up; Click the Company Financials tab to get financials and ratios as well as detailed information about capital structure and supply chain, products, and suppliers.
Statista Pro
This database contains statistics and data useful for understanding products, customer needs, and the competitive landscape of foreign countries and industries.
Mintel

Mintel analyzes consumers, markets, new products, and competitive insights on global and local economies.
Country Commercial Guides by International Trade Administration.

Global Economy

Global Consumption Database
A World Bank resource that provides data on household consumption in developing countries. Designed for researchers studying consumption patterns and businesses seeking market insights for expansion.

The World Bank Global Economic Data
The World Bank web site offers a wide variety of economic, health and population statistics from around the globe. It covers international trade statistics, economic development data and country information. It provides access to a variety of analytical tools and software (ADePT, PovCalNet, PovMap and iSimulate) for interpreting and presenting data.
Economist Intelligence Unit
Country, industry and risk analysis

International News

New York Times (1980-present)
A newspaper archive of the print version of the New York Times to 1980. For older back issues, see the New York Times Historical (1851-2019), and for current digital coverage, see New York Times - Digital Edition.
New York Times - Digital Edition
New users MUST register first for free access!
See our Instructions for creating your NYT account.

After creating your account, access articles, video, audio, digital images of the newspaper back to 1851, and more through the New York Times website and the NYT mobile app! The Library's All-Access subscription also includes Cooking, Games, Wirecutter, and The Athletic with the same account.

The New York Times Digital Edition (nytimes.com web access and app access) is available for all current Cal State LA students, faculty, and staff, courtesy of the University Library. Access articles from 1851-present, interactive graphics, videos, podcasts, digitized images, and more!
See our New York Times LibGuide for more information!
New Users - Get Access!
1. Go to accessnyt.com to register.
2. Follow the step-by-step instructions to create a new account.
Note: If you are off-campus, you may be prompted to sign in through the library's authentication site using your MyCalStateLA credentials.
3. Make sure to sign up using your Cal State LA email address.
4. After registration is complete, log into www.nytimes.com or through the NYT mobile app to start using your free subscription.
***If you encounter any error messages, please email edu@nytimes.com.
See our New York Times LibGuide for information on what to do if you have an already existing NYT subscription or information about the NYT App!
Wall Street Journal
New users MUST register first for free access!
See our Instructions for creating your WSJ account.

After creating your account, access articles, video, audio, podcasts, and more through the Wall Street Journal website and the WSJ mobile app!
The Wall Street Journal (wsj.com web access and app access) is available for all current Cal State LA students, faculty, and staff, courtesy of the University Library. Access articles, newsletters, videos, podcasts, and more! See our Wall Street Journal LibGuide for more information.
New Users - Get Access!
1. Go to WSJ.com/CalStateLA to register.
2. Follow the step-by-step instructions to create a new account. You will be asked to input your account type (student, faculty, etc), and students will then be asked to input your graduation date.
3. It it recommended that you use your Cal State LA email address to register.
4. If you already have a WSJ account, you can use the same email address to link the Cal State LA subscription access to your pre-existing account. If you have a paid subscription with that account, however, you must end that subscription before you can link to the Cal State LA subscription. See the section below on Switching to School-Sponsored Subscription.
5. After registration is complete, you can continue to use the dedicated Cal State LA link above, log in directly to wsj.com, or use the WSJ app to access your free subscription.
***If you encounter any error messages, please email academicsupport@dowjones.com or call 1-800-JOURNAL.
Switching to a School-Sponsored Subscription
If you have an existing paid WSJ Subscription:
If a student or faculty/staff subscriber has a personal WSJ subscription and would like to convert it to the Cal State LA-Sponsored WSJ subscription, they will need to call 1-800-JOURNAL to cancel.
You do not need to cancel your existing personal subscription unless you'd like to associate your existing personal WSJ account with Cal State LA's free access.
If you do choose to cancel your paid subscription and associate the same account with Cal State LA's subscription, once you have called 1-800-JOURNAL, follow the instructions in New Users - Get Access!
If you encounter any error messages, please email academicsupport@dowjones.com or call 1-800-JOURNAL.

Investopedia

Investopedia
Business research and analysis can be difficult if you are new to certain areas. For example, if you work primarily in marketing but need to deal with a finance related issue you could spend an enormous amount of time just identifying relevant concepts and what they mean. Here are my favorite sites for 'ramping up' quickly and easily when I am new to an area or concept.