Key Terms in Literary Theory by
This book provides precise definitions of terms and concepts in literary theory, along with explanations of the major movements and figures in literary and cultural theory and an extensive bibliography. It is designed for the student who needs to know what a particular term means, how it is used, and where it comes from.
A New Handbook of Literary Terms by
A New Handbook of Literary Terms offers a lively, informative guide to words and concepts that every student of literature needs to know.
The Encyclopedia of Literary and Cultural Theory by
This is the first comprehensive multi-volume encyclopedia ofliterary and cultural theory. Arranged in three volumes coveringLiterary Theory from 1900 to 1966, Literary Theory from 1966 to thepresent, and Cultural Theory, this encyclopedia provides accessibleentries on the important concepts, theorists and trends inpost-1900 literary and cultural theory. With explanations ofcomplex terms and important theoretical concepts, and summaries ofthe work and ideas of key figures, it is a highly informativereference work for a multi-disciplinary readership Part of the Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia ofLiterature Contains over 300 entries of 1000-7000 words written byan international cast of nearly 300 leading scholars in literaryand cultural theory Provides explanations of complex terms, important theoreticalconcepts, and tools for critical analysis Provides summaries of the work and ideas of key figures such asJacques Derrida, Michel Foucault, Judith Butler, and Slavoj?i?ek, and many more Online version provides students and researchers with 24/7access to authoritative reference and powerful searching,browsing and cross-referencing capabilities Special introductory price available
Literary Theory by
The new edition of this bestselling literary theory anthology has been thoroughly updated to include influential texts from innovative new areas, including disability studies, eco-criticism, and ethics. Covers all the major schools and methods that make up the dynamic field of literary theory, from Formalism to Postcolonialism Expanded to include work from Stuart Hall, Sara Ahmed, and Lauren Berlant. Pedagogically enhanced with detailed editorial introductions and a comprehensive glossary of terms
Literary Theory: a Guide for the Perplexed by
This Guide for the Perplexed provides an advanced introduction to literary theory from basic information and orientation for the uninformed leading on to more sophisticated readings. It engages directly with the difficulty many students find intimidating, asking 'What is ''Literary Theory''?' and offering a clear, concise, accessible guide to the major theories and theorists, including: humanism; structuralism; poststructuralism; psychoanalytic approaches; feminist approaches; queer theory; ideology and discourse; new historicism; race and postcolonialism; postmodernism. The final chapter points to new directions in literary and cultural theory.
Literary Theory by
A quarter of a century on from its original publication, "Literary Theory: An Introduction" still conjures the subversion, excitement and exoticism that characterized theory through the 1960s and 70s, when it posed an unprecedented challenge to the literary establishment. Eagleton has added a new preface to this anniversary edition to address more recent developments in literary studies, including what he describes as "the growth of a kind of anti-theory," and the idea that literary theory has been institutionalized. Insightful and enlightening, "Literary Theory: An Introduction" remains the essential guide to the field. 25th Anniversary Edition of Terry Eagleton's classic introduction to literary theory First published in 1983, and revised in 1996 to include material on developments in feminist and cultural theory Has served as an inspiration to generations of students and teachers Continues to function as arguably the definitive undergraduate textbook on literary theory Reissue includes a new foreword by Eagleton himself, reflecting on the impact and enduring success of the book, and on developments in literary theory since it was first published
Literary Theory by
Pocket Essentials is a dynamic series of books that are concise, lively, and easy to read. Packed with facts as well as expert opinions, each book has all the key information you need to know about such popular topics as film, television, cult fiction, history, and more. It sounds daunting: all those -isms, long technical words, weird French thinkers, and incomprehensible Germans. Most books providing introductions to "Literary Theory" are long-winded tomes, guiding dogged readers through the twists and turns of critical analysis and logic. This small volume goes to the heart of the key concepts of Literary Theory, explaining them in clear everyday language. It provides witty and memorable comments and quotations, and enables the student of literature to raise the most pertinent and challenging questions, which even university professors have difficulty answering.
The Blackwell Guide to Literary Theory by
This student-friendly text introduces students to the history and scope of literary theory, as well as showing them how to perform literary analysis. Designed to be used alongside primary theoretical texts as an introduction to theory or alongside literary texts as a model for performing literary analysis. Presents a series of exemplary readings of particular literary texts such as Jane Eyre, Heart of Darkness, Ulysses, To the Lighthouse and Midnight's Children. Provides a brief history of the rise of literary theory in the twentieth century, in order that students understand the historical contexts for different theories. Presents an alphabetically organized series of entries on key figures and publications, from Adorno to Žižek. Features descriptions of the major movements in literary theory, from critical theory through to postcolonial theory.
Ecocriticism by
Ecocriticism explores the ways in which we imagine and portray the relationship between humans and the environment in all areas of cultural production, from Wordsworth and Thoreau through to Google Earth, J.M. Coetzee and Werner Herzog's Grizzly Man. Greg Garrard's animated and accessible volume traces the development of the movement and explores its key concepts, including: pollution wilderness apocalypse dwelling animals earth. Featuring a newly rewritten chapter on animal studies, and considering queer and postcolonial ecocriticism and the impact of globalisation, this fully updated second edition also presents a glossary of terms and suggestions for further reading in print and online. Concise, clear, and authoritative, Ecocriticism offers the ideal introduction to this crucial subject for students of literary and cultural studies.
Feminism: A Very Short Introduction by
This book provides an historical account of feminism, exploring its earliest roots as well as key issues including voting rights, the liberation of the sixties, and its relevance today. Margaret Walters touches on the difficulties and inequities that women still face more than forty years after the 'new wave' of 1960s feminism, such as how successful women are at combining domesticity, motherhood, and work outside the house. She brings the subject completely up to date by providing an analysis of the current situation of women across the globe, from Europe and the United States to Third World countries.
Falling in Love with Close Reading by 