Online Reference - ENGL 3000 - English Tutorial: Reading and Writing in the Major

Reference Databases

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference is an ideal starting point for research with curated, authoritative reference sources that provide a firm foundation for understanding a topic.

Oxford Bibliographies
Developed cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides across a variety of subject areas including literature and literary theory.

Encyclopedia of Medieval Literature
Encyclopedia of Medieval Literature, Second Edition offers a comprehensive account of the literary works, writers, and concepts of the Middle Ages, from 500 to 1500 CE. Covering not only European literature but also that of India, the Far East, and the Muslim world.

Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. Includes definitions, meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.

Middle English Dictionary
The world's largest searchable database of Middle English (medieval) language and usage for the period 1100-1500.

Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Gale Literature including Resource Center, Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Literature Criticism and LitFinder. The database brings together these literary databases allowing searching across these resources.
- Contemporary Authors Online
- Dictionary of Literary Biography
- Literature Criticism Online

Select advanced search.
Type the author's name on the first line and "biography" or "memoir" on the second.
Browse results

Tip: Click links to relevant subjects, for example:

Norton Timeline of Western Literature Provides a basic timeline of historical events and literary works created in the western world, from ancient times to the early 21st century.
The British Library English Literature Timeline An interactive timeline of English Language and Literature from the 11th century to present day. Requires Flash.
Eighteenth Century (1680-1819) Timeline to situate 18th century British literature. Topics include art, politics, scientific discovery, literature, and culture of print.