Skip to Main Content
university logo

University Library

American Indian & Indigenous Studies

Treaties and Laws

California State Legislature

The California State Legislature consists of two houses, the Assembly (80 members), and the Senate (40 members).  Members of each house are elected by the people in the districts they represent and are held to term limits.

California Ballot Initiatives

Ballot initiatives are legislation brought either by the legislature, or citizens (after gathering the required number of signatures), and voted on in statewide general elections.

General Resources for Gov't Docs

Court Records

John F. Kennedy Memorial Library
California State University, Los Angeles
5151 State University Drive
Los Angeles, CA 90032-8300