LibGuides: MGMT 5110 Research Methods: Mergent Instructions

How to Search for Company Financials in Mergent Online

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Contains information for 25,000 U.S. public companies (active and inactive) listed on the NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ exchanges and 20,000 non-U.S. companies .
Each company report incorporates up-to-the-minute news items. The Archives Data holds the full business descriptions, histories and financial statements for companies that were acquired, went bankrupt, liquidated or merged out of existence from 1996 onward for U.S. companies and 1995 forward for non-U.S. companies. The database also includes a annual report collection for more than 40, 000 U.S. companies.
Company coverage in the Mergent Online includes: history, mergers, acquisitions, disposals, joint ventures, business, property, subsidiaries, officers and directors, news reports, long-term debt, bond ratings, capital stock, exchange and ticker symbol, annual stock price ranges, registrar, transfer agent, stock splits, dividend payment history, income statement, cash flow statement, balance sheet, contact information, auditors, and qualified auditors report.

NOTE: Mergent Online is currently not compatible with Netscape 4.7 or older browsers. If you are currently using Netscape 4.7 or older or you are an Apple Mac or Macintosh user, please contact Mergent technical support staff at 1-800-955-8080 or 212-413-7744 or mail them at mailto:technicalsupport@mergent.com.

Step One:

Login to Mergent Online using the link provided above. Make sure you sign in with your mycalstatela username and password or use the campus VPN (link above).

Step Two:

From the database front page, find the search box, highlighted in red. If you know your company's stock symbol then use that (ex. TGT for Target)

Step 3:

From there, find the Company Financials page for as reported Annual balance sheets, Ratios and Analysis.

Step 4:

To access the company’s balance sheet, find the “analysis” tab and from this screen you can access the company’s income statement, balance sheet and ratio analysis.

Step 5:

To find all of the company’s 10K filings click “Filings” tab. On this page you will only see the last 90 days.

To go further back, hit the “Click here for Edgar Search”. Put your Company Name again. Now find the Filing Date Search and select “Last 12 months”. Find the “Filing Type option and select ’10 K’.

From the results page you can download the data as a PDF or as an Excel.

University Library