LibGuides: First Year Writing Instructor's Library Guide: Library Home + Basics

Introducing Library Home

If students are unsure where to start and want to explore a topic, here are some recommended databases:

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Offers original articles on current events and public affairs.
Your complete source on the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, all the pros and cons, bibliographies and more.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference is an ideal starting point for beginning researchers. The collection contains over 700 online reference titles from 100+ and offers curated, authoritative reference sources that provide a firm foundation for understanding a topic. Users can start with Credo, gather background information, find key terms and concepts, and then seamlessly travel to the library’s journal databases for more specialized information and peer-reviewed articles.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Contains contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the database features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.

The library has over 300 databases. For FYW students, the interdisciplinary databases below are great places to find articles.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary database providing access to scholarly articles, as well as news and magazine articles.
To see which titles are available in full-text, as well as the names of all titles indexed and abstracted, check the EBSCOhost Database Coverage List and Title List by Subject . Updated daily.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Offers interdisciplinary content (academic journal articles and book chapters) across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
On occasions, you may encounter problems opening PDFs. The reason for this to happen is most likely due to the time out error. This could be due to a slow internet connection or a large download size. Many times, articles with images contained in them will time out the download.
To resolve this, right click on the link "Proceed to PDF" and select "Save Target As..." (or "Save Link as..." for Firefox). This will allow you to save the PDF to your computer and should allow for a faster, more successful download.
If the problem persists, check the PDF Help Page at JSTOR

All Databases
View all 300+ databases available through the library. Search for databases specific to a subject, such as Psychology or Education.