LibGuides: Business: Industry Information

Industry Information

Best Bet

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database provides U.S. industry research and analysis for 700 different market segments. Each industry report presents answers to top market research questions, and is used for understanding market size, competitors, drafting business plans, benchmarking, forecasting, business valuations, litigation support, due diligence and more.
Each market report is available online in HTML and PDF format.
MarketLine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides company and industry insight on a global scale. It is a comprehensive collection of company, industry and country information extending across all continents and every major industry.
MarketLine provides statistical modelling functions, interactive reports and databases along with an integrated news service updated on a daily basis. It is a dynamic access point to the world of market intelligence. It can be used in management and marketing courses, especially those with an innovation, entrepreneurship or global focus. In terms of student use: it would provide critical information for drafting assignments related to market plans or new business plans. This database could also be useful for finance classes that deal with investing, especially investing in global markets or emerging economies and industries. The country information could additionally be useful in economics classes.
MarketLine Tutorial
Mintel This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Mintel provides an analysis of consumers, markets, new products, and competitive insights on global and local economies.

Other Good Resources

Statista Pro This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Statista is a statistics portal that provides statistics and data on over 1 million statistics and facts from more than 10,000 different sources including agriculture, advertising, health, hospitality, consumer goods, and much more. The content is geared towards business and marketing statistical needs, with a focus on current statistics.

Industry News

ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ABI/Inform Global provides indexing and substantive abstracts to articles from more than 1,000 leading business and management publications, including over 350 English-language titles from outside the U.S. You also get complete articles in full text for 600+ of the most popular and important sources.
International. Full-text retrospective from 1997 (with limited full-text appearing in 1994); abstracts retrospective from 1971.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides index and full text for more than 3,000 scholarly business journals, including full text for nearly 1000 peer-reviewed business publications. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business.
This database provides full text (PDF) for more than 300 of the top scholarly journals dating as far back as 1922. Updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.

Industry Ratios

BizMiner This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A company and industry intelligence database, BizMiner covers industry financial ratios, balance sheet and detailed profit and loss statements for 10,000 lines of business, including some hard to find small businesses that don't exist as large industries.
It is very useful for marketing, management and accounting classes that require sample financial statements for lines of businesses by region and business type.

University Library

Business

Industry Information

Best Bet

Other Good Resources

Industry News

Industry Ratios