Special Collections - National Poetry Month 2021 | Cal State LA University Library

Poetry in Special Collections

Listen to the Mel Weisburd Papers
These recordings are from the personal collection of the poet Mel Weisburd, who during the 1950s was the editor of the influential journal of California poetry, Coastlines. Accounts of California poetry of the time now increasingly identify the group of poets associated with the journal (a circle dubbed the “Coastliners” by Weisburd) as an important alternative to the more visible Beat communities of San Francisco and Venice. Weisburd avidly sought to document the poetry activity of Los Angeles in the 50s, which recorded a number of legendary happenings and readings that featured important American poets including as Kenneth Rexroth, Kenneth Patchen, Don Gordon, Ann Stanford, Gene Frumkin, and Thomas McGrath.
More Literature & Poetry in Special Collections
This web page highlights some of the print poetry collections in Special Collections. Email Azalea Camacho, University Archivist and Special Collections Librarian, at acamac16@calstatela.edu for more information about how to visit with them.

What are Special Collections & Archives?

Special Collections

A group of items, such as rare books or documents, that are either irreplaceable or unusually rare and valuable. Often items in Special Collections are fragile, rare, and valuable. Because of this they do not circulate like the main library collection and must be viewed in the Special Collections & Archives Reading Room (RM 2079, 2nd floor Library South).

Archives

Historical records created over the course of an individuals or organizations lifetime. Archives are comprised of primary source documents which have been accumulated over a period of time. Some of the materials found in the archives include records, photographs, diaries, recordings, scrapbooks, etc.