LibGuides: Public Health 3100: Getting Started

Getting Started

When doing research in public health, there are a variety of sources available to you. The first step is selecting a topic and figuring out what types of sources of information you will need to use for your research.

If you need scholarly and/or peer reviewed articles, you will want to start with a database. If you need background information, a good starting point would be a subject encyclopedia.

If you need help figuring out where to begin you may always contact me.

Off-Campus Access

VPN Virtual Private Networking
Sometimes the Proxy Server may have issues. If you have problems accessing resources off-campus with the Proxy Server, you may want to install the VPN to access the Library's resources from off-campus. The VPN connection is usually faster than the Proxy Server.

Writing Help

Center for Academic Success - Writing Wing
Grammarly@edu
Grammarly is a powerful digital writing tool using artificial intelligence and natural language processing to offer grammar checking, spell checking, and plagiarism detection services along with suggestions about writing clarity, concision, vocabulary, delivery style, and tone. Grammarly@edu is the premium version of Grammarly.

Electronic Reference Sources

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference is an ideal starting point for beginning researchers. The collection contains over 700 online reference titles from 100+ and offers curated, authoritative reference sources that provide a firm foundation for understanding a topic. Users can start with Credo, gather background information, find key terms and concepts, and then seamlessly travel to the library’s journal databases for more specialized information and peer-reviewed articles.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Offers an online collection of premier reference eBooks including encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. You can search a single eBook or across an entire eBook collection.
The collection contains the following subjects: art, biography, business, education, environment, history, information and publishing, law, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, nation and world, religion, science, social science, and technology.
Merriam-Webster Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Full-text of the Merriam-Webster Collegiate Dictionary (10th ed.). Additional features: Thesaurus, Games, and more.

MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus is an online health information resource for patients and their families and friends. It is a service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the world's largest medical library, which is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH).

University Library

Public Health 3100

Librarian

Getting Started

Off-Campus Access

Writing Help

Electronic Reference Sources