LibGuides: MGMT 5995 Healthcare Strategy, Innovation, and Change Projects: Getting Started

Introduction

This guide will help you manage the research and information needs of a graduate-level MGMT 5995 Healthcare Strategy, Innovation, and Change Projects class. It contains several parts.

The Healthcare Management & Finance tab has useful tips and information specific to the business side of healthcare, including e-books in finance and management in a healthcare industry context.
The Company Research, Industry & Market Analysis, and Industry Research Step-by-Step tabs will help you navigate the CSULA databases available for business research. Each tab has step-by-step instructions on how to use the relevant portions of them.
The Financial Analysis, Ratios, SEC Filings, and Strategy & Analysis tabs provide resources for many common business analytics and decision-making tools.
The tabs, APA Guide, give basic information about APA format as well as Refworks, a tool for creating in-text and bibliographic references.
Finally, under the Public Health tab, there is a list of useful public health websites recommended by your professor.

As always, if you have questions or need help, feel free to email Business and Economics Librarian Summer Peng at summer@calstatela.edu or visit during office hours.

Links to Business Literature Databases

Links to library databases for searching the literature (scholarly, popular and trade/industry) on business topics:

Business Source Premier
Like ABI/Inform, a core business database for literature reviews and finding scholarly articles.
Google Scholar
Use this to link to Google Scholar and include links to Cal State LA Library paid content
RefWorks
Refworks can be a time and aggravation saver. Use it to create reference pages and in text citations. If you are ever asked for a group code it is rwcsulosangeles.

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Offers U.S. industry research and analysis for 700 market segments, aiding in market understanding, competitor analysis, business planning, benchmarking, forecasting, valuations, litigation support, and due diligence. It includes industry statistics, trends, procurement analysis, price trends, supply chain risks, and supplier benchmarks, with reports typically 25–30 pages long and regularly updated.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Information for 25,000 U.S. public companies (active and inactive) listed on the NYSE, AMEX, and NASDAQ exchanges and 20,000 non-U.S. companies .
Each company report incorporates up-to-the-minute news items. The Archives Data holds the full business descriptions, histories and financial statements for companies that were acquired, went bankrupt, liquidated or merged out of existence from 1996 onward for U.S. companies and 1995 forward for non-U.S. companies. The database also includes a annual report collection for more than 40, 000 U.S. companies.
Company coverage in the Mergent Online includes: history, mergers, acquisitions, disposals, joint ventures, business, property, subsidiaries, officers and directors, news reports, long-term debt, bond ratings, capital stock, exchange and ticker symbol, annual stock price ranges, registrar, transfer agent, stock splits, dividend payment history, income statement, cash flow statement, balance sheet, contact information, auditors, and qualified auditors report.

NOTE: Mergent Online is currently not compatible with Netscape 4.7 or older browsers. If you are currently using Netscape 4.7 or older or you are an Apple Mac or Macintosh user, please contact Mergent technical support staff at 1-800-955-8080 or 212-413-7744 or mail them at mailto:technicalsupport@mergent.com.

Questions about business basics? Start here!

Investopedia
The best business dictionary and collection of explanatory articles on the planet. Amazing resource!

Business research and analysis can be difficult if you are new to certain areas. For example, if you work primarily in marketing but need to deal with a finance related issue you could spend an enormous amount of time just identifying relevant concepts and what they mean. Here are my favorite sites for 'ramping up' quickly and easily when I am new to an area or concept.

Portable MBA

The Portable MBA

Great E-book that can fill in the gaps or refresh your knowledge regarding most business concepts. Excellent chapter on business analysis and valuation of companies as well as good information regarding all functional areas (marketing, strategy, accounting, financce, cis etc.)