LibGuides: MGMT 4105 Managerial Leadership and Motivation: Getting Started

Introduction

This guide will help you manage the research and information needs of a graduate-level Managerial Leadership And Motivation class. It contains several parts.

There are two tabs, Case Writing 101 and Case Writing Tips, that will aid you in the process of writing a case. The Researching Companies and Researching Industries tabs will help you navigate the CSULA databases available for business research. Each tab has step-by-step instructions on how to use the relevant portions of them. The Healthcare Management tab has useful tips and information specifically for the business side of healthcare, including e-books on finance and management in the context of the healthcare industry. The tab, Working with Citations, gives basic information about APA format and Refworks, a tool for creating in-text and bibliographic references. Finally, the Financial Analysis, Ratios, SEC Filings, and Strategy & Analysis tabs provide resources for many common business analytical and decision-making tools.

As always, if you have questions or need help, please email summer@calstatela.edu or see me during office hours.

Links to Business Literature Databases

Links to library databases for searching the literature (scholarly, popular and trade/industry) on business topics:

Google Scholar
Use this to link to Google Scholar and include links to Cal State LA Library paid content
Business Source Premier
Like ABI/Inform, a core business database for literature reviews and finding scholarly articles.
ABI/Inform Global
Great source of peer reviewed/scholarly articles related to business and academic business topics.
RefWorks
Refworks can be a time and aggravation saver. Use it to create reference pages and in text citations. If you are ever asked for a group code it is rwcsulosangeles.

Questions about business basics? Start here!

Investopedia
The best business dictionary and collection of exlpanatory articles on the planet. Amazing resource!

Business research and analysis can be difficult if you are new to certain areas. For example, if you work primarily in marketing but need to deal with a finance related issue you could spend an enormous amount of time just identifying relevant concepts and what they mean. Here are my favorite sites for 'ramping up' quickly and easily when I am new to an area or concept.

Portable MBA

The Portable MBA

Great E-book that can fill in the gaps or refresh your knowledge regarding most business concepts. Excellent chapter on business analysis and valuation of companies as well as good information regarding all functional areas (marketing, strategy, accounting, financce, cis etc.)

Accessing Resources from Home

When you access library electronic resources from off-campus, you need to use one of the following methods. Using OneSearch will automatically prompt the EZproxy login.

1. Campus VPN (Recommended) Setting up VPN (Virtual Private Network) on your personal computer allows students, faculty, and staff to access library resources from off-campus. Download the VPN client Once VPN is installed on your computer, you turn it on by clicking the Connect button (shown below).	2. EZProxy Login (Default) When you are off-campus and click on library electronic resources, you will be prompted to login using the EZProxy screen (shown below). Login using your MyCalStateLA ID username and password. Please note: Place your MyCalStateLA ID account username (e.g. lsmith8) in the username box. Do not include @calstatela.edu as part of your username. If you don't know your MyCalStateLA password, please go to the myCalStateLA page and click on "Forgot Password." If you experience difficulty in recovering your ID username and password, please contact the ITS Help Desk at helpdesk@calstatela.edu or 323-343-6170.