LibGuides: Ancient Greece: Home

Citing Classical Literature

Notes and references for classical Greek and Latin works can look a little different than many readers and writers are used to. The citation will often just have the name of the author, or the author and the title. Instead of a traditional page number, the book, section, or line may be used so that readers looking at different editions can still find the reference. See the Chicago Manual of Style Rules 14.242-14.247.

Examples:

Primary Sources

The Greek City States: A Sourcebook by P. J. Rhodes
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780521850490
Publication Date: 2007-04-26
Political activity and political thinking began in the cities and other states of ancient Greece, and terms such as tyranny, aristocracy, oligarchy, democracy and politics itself are Greek words for concepts first discussed in Greece. Rhodes presents in translation a selection of texts illustrating the formal mechanisms and informal workings of the Greek states in all their variety.
Ancient Greek Democracy by Eric W. Robinson (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780470752197
Publication Date: 2008-04-15

Secondary Sources

OneSearch
OneSearch allows you to search the Cal State LA library catalog for books, and to also search many of our databases all at once. It is a great place to begin your research

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Offers interdisciplinary content including approximately 2,600 academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials.
On occasions, you may encounter problems opening PDFs. The reason for this to happen is most likely due to the time out error. This could be due to a slow internet connection or a large download size. Many times, articles with images contained in them will time out the download.
To resolve this, right click on the link "Proceed to PDF" and select "Save Target As..." (or "Save Link as..." for Firefox). This will allow you to save the PDF to your computer and should allow for a faster, more successful download.
If the problem persists, check the PDF Help Page at JSTOR
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers scholarly literature of world history (1450 to present) EXCEPT that of the United States and Canada. These are covered by America: History and Life . This resource abstracts more than 2,100 journals.
Coverage: 1955-present
Encyclopedia of Ancient History This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of twenty-first century scholarship, The Encyclopedia of Ancient History covers the entire ancient Mediterranean world. It contains over 5,000 original entries spanning the late Bronze Age through the seventh century CE.

The Spartans by Paul Cartledge
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781400078851
Publication Date: 2004-08-10
Classical Sparta (Routledge Revivals) by Anton Powell
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780415743334
Publication Date: 2013-11-04
This collection, first published in 1989, investigates aspects of the Spartan polity which have often been overlooked or underestimated. Viewed at least until the Renaissance as the epitome of classical virtues, Sparta has in the last two centuries suffered a rapid decline in reputation among liberal-minded scholars, repelled by many of the repressive measures employed by this remarkably successful city-state, which for centuries dominated mainland Greece.

University Library

Ancient Greece

Subject Librarian

Citing Classical Literature

Primary Sources

Secondary Sources